Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Sweetfudge

Want To Start Up A gluten-free Bakery

Don't know if this was the best place to post, but since it has to do w/ baking....

K, since I was a kid, I've LOVED to cook. Especially baked goods, breads cookies, all that. I even looked into different culinary schools when I graduated from high school, but never persued anything.

Since dx, I've been experimenting desperately to make good foods again, and I think I'm finally getting it. I made a delicious chocolate eclair cake the other night when company came over, including my cousin, who may have celiac. I was so excited for everyone to try it, and loved their praise!

So, here's my thought. I could start up something, maybe even from home for now...how should I do this? Should I do catering? How do I do advertising? What kinds of laws are there about starting up a business? What goodies should I offer?...I'm full of questions! Thanks in advance!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Good for you. I wish you much success in your bakery business.

Re: the business side of your venture...

As far as city/state regulations, you need to check with them for any laws pertaining to a home business or any small business. I had a secretarial business in my home and my city's laws were specific about that - no more than 6 customers a day and no other employees other than relatives. Your city will have it's own ordinances governing what kind of business can and cannot be run from a residential location.

You will also need to get a tax ID number from your State and will be required to file sales tax forms. For myself (in my art business) my sales are so low that I only have to file once a year. However, most small businesses must pay sales tax quarterly.