Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

swrdsrfg

To Freeze, Refrigerate, Or Store At Room Temp!

Hello! I just joined, so this is my first post. Hope I'm doing this correctly! I recently purchased some sweet rice flour, some tapioca starch, and some potato starch. I'm new to gluten free baking, so I'm not sure about proper storage: pantry, refrigerator, or freezer. Some brands of the special flours are marked for storage, but these came from an oriental market and are not marked. Can someone please help me with this? Thanks so much. :)

Frances in MS

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Hello! I just joined, so this is my first post. Hope I'm doing this correctly! I recently purchased some sweet rice flour, some tapioca starch, and some potato starch. I'm new to gluten free baking, so I'm not sure about proper storage: pantry, refrigerator, or freezer. Some brands of the special flours are marked for storage, but these came from an oriental market and are not marked. Can someone please help me with this? Thanks so much. :)

Frances in MS

Hello and welcome!

I'm not much of a baker so I can't offer the best advise. I do have some gluten free mixes that I keep in my pantry in a zip-lock container or a tight storeage container.

Welcome Frances.

Firstly I don't know much about storing flours, but from what I gather it can depend on where you live as in how hot or muggy it might be. In hot or muggy conditions they don't last as long in the cupboard.

I can't see a problem with storing them in the fridge let alone the freezer. It might just mean a couple of extra minutes cooking time. From what I gather they don't freeze solid. I buy a premixed flour, and it tends to keep all right in the cupboard, but I am going to get a bit adventurous and buy my separtate flours and work from there. I will definately be storing them in the fridge, or possibly the freezer.