Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Stokey107

Doctor's Opinion

I have never used this forum before but I was wondering of I could get a doctor's opinion on whether my case sounds like celiac. I will be as short as possible. And Thanks for your advice ;)

For about three months I was having all your classic symptoms of gastrointeritus (I may have mispelled it.) I did blood work, stool samples, and nothing. By the end of the three months, I was missing about 1 day of week of work. I eventually starting keeping a food log but I saw no conncestions for any food alergy. MY GI finally suspected celiac. He did do an endoscopy but I never went back for the follow up to see about the biopsy results. I was gluten-free for about 2 years.

On a side note, my husband starting having the same symptoms for about two months. We finallly narrowed it down to a new type of bread he had both been eating. I was eating this also before I was gluten-free.

I recently have starting eating gluten again (about 2 weeks) and have absolutley none of the symptoms I had before. I haven't so much as had a stomach cramp. Does this sound like celiac or maybe IBS?

Thank you!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I'm not a doctor, this is just an idea. Might be time to check the endoscopy results. According to my understanding, if it does show celiac, your body is sustaining damage when you eat gluten whether or not you show symptoms.

Otherwise, it is possible that you have had an allergy to gluten, and having stayed away from it you can now tolerate to some degree. My guess is it this is the case, eventually the symptoms may return.