Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

Does bacon have gluten in it? I was under the impression that meat was ok as long as it was not packaged I buy my bacon at a albertsons meat department Thanks Barb

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Guest Doll

I use Maple Leaf or Campfire bacon. MMM...bacon! :) Some of the lesser known brands *may* have gluten, usually hiding in any spcies that are used. However, MG is right in that most bacon is gluten-free. I find that larger companies usually make many of their products "allergen" free.

Note: both of these brands are packaged...so eat away! :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I use Maple Leaf or Campfire bacon. MMM...bacon! :) Some of the lesser known brands *may* have gluten, usually hiding in any spcies that are used. However, MG is right in that most bacon is gluten-free. I find that larger companies usually make many of their products "allergen" free.

Thanks Everyone

You all are so fast.... hungry must go eat :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most meat is ok, but you do have to make sure that chicken or turkey hasn't had broth added to it to "plump" it up. I also notice that you're not buying packaged meat. The one problem here is that if they cut it for you and there are other meats that have been cut before you that contain gluten, you're contaminated. For that reason I buy only packaged meat (with the exception of deli meat from this one store that only sells gluten-free meat).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you have Boars Head near ya GET THEM!!! They MARK on the package that they are gluten-free, VERY few things are not gluten-free! Not to mention they taste GREAT!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Most meat is ok, but you do have to make sure that chicken or turkey hasn't had broth added to it to "plump" it up"

If broth added to to poultry (or any meat) has anything with gluten in it it must by USDA law be clearly listed. This is a separate requirement from the allergen law and has been in place for years.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17):




  • Forum Discussions

    This is good advice. Some restaurants offer gluten-free menus or mark items with “GF” on their regular menu, and I try to eat at such places. I still talk to the manager when I order to be sure. 
    I've had a swollen gland in my neck similar to what you described.  I found that taking thiamine helps immensely.   Here's an article that you might find helpful..... http://wandererandhome.weebly.com/heal-yourself/vitamin-b1-th...
    Mummu said her daughter was "constantly nauseated, tired, and having little to no interest in eating.  She's lost weight and I'm worried she may be becoming depressed"   I agree with M.Martha.  The Autoimmune diet without dairy and...