Celiac.com Sponsor:

Celiac.com Sponsor:

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ElenaDragon

Best All Purpose Baking Flour?

I'm new to gluten-free, and I'm looking for a good all purpose flour I can use in muffins and pancakes and such (from scratch, no mixes). I'm open to suggestions, let me know what you like! I shop at Whole Foods, so something I can buy there, like Bob's Red Mill or Arrowhead Mills, would be best.

I'm new to gluten-free, and I'm looking for a good all purpose flour I can use in muffins and pancakes and such (from scratch, no mixes). I'm open to suggestions, let me know what you like! I shop at Whole Foods, so something I can buy there, like Bob's Red Mill or Arrowhead Mills, would be best.

I have had good luck with Bob's Red Mill, but I like Guten Free Pantry also. Add a bit more liquid than called for when making pancakes, otherwise they will be too heavy.

Guest j_mommy

I also use Bob's Red mill...I've used it in alot of different things and loved them all!

I can't stand garbanzo bean flour or soy flour and many pre-made flour mixes, like Bob's Red Mill, contain lots of it. I make my own. It's really easy. I have tried two different mixes and both have worked out fantastic. You would not even be able to tell that the things that I made were gluten free! I just make up a bunch in advance.

3 parts white rice flour, 2 parts potato starch, 1 part tapioca starch/flour

OR

1 cup white rice flour, 1 cup tapioca starch/flour, 1 cup cornstarch, 1 TBSP potato flour

**In both cases use 1 tsp xanthan gum per 1.5 cups flour.

Guest j_mommy

No it does not have soy.

Ingredients are: Garbanzo bean flour, Potato starch. Tapioca Flour, White sorghum flour, Fava Bean flour.

Personally, it does not have a strong flavor and blends well in everything.