This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Best All Purpose Baking Flour?

ElenaDragon

ElenaDragon Explorer

I'm new to gluten-free, and I'm looking for a good all purpose flour I can use in muffins and pancakes and such (from scratch, no mixes). I'm open to suggestions, let me know what you like! I shop at Whole Foods, so something I can buy there, like Bob's Red Mill or Arrowhead Mills, would be best.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

24years free Newbie
I'm new to gluten-free, and I'm looking for a good all purpose flour I can use in muffins and pancakes and such (from scratch, no mixes). I'm open to suggestions, let me know what you like! I shop at Whole Foods, so something I can buy there, like Bob's Red Mill or Arrowhead Mills, would be best.

I have had good luck with Bob's Red Mill, but I like Guten Free Pantry also. Add a bit more liquid than called for when making pancakes, otherwise they will be too heavy.

happygirl Collaborator

I vote for Bob's Red Mill.

Guest j_mommy

I also use Bob's Red mill...I've used it in alot of different things and loved them all!

ElenaDragon Explorer

Thank you all! I'll give Bob's a try then. :)

JennyC Enthusiast

I can't stand garbanzo bean flour or soy flour and many pre-made flour mixes, like Bob's Red Mill, contain lots of it. I make my own. It's really easy. I have tried two different mixes and both have worked out fantastic. You would not even be able to tell that the things that I made were gluten free! I just make up a bunch in advance.

3 parts white rice flour, 2 parts potato starch, 1 part tapioca starch/flour

OR