Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

amberleigh

Chicken/vegetable Broth And Natural Flavoring?

Recommended Posts

I was dx'd Monday and saw a dietician yesterday so this is all still new to me, but for now my confusion lies within these ingredients...

broths

natural flavoring

modified food starch (saw another thread on this)

So, are these safe...or do you only use them if the product is listed on a gluten-free list? Any good lists out there? I have this one...

http://homepage.mac.com/sholland/celiac/GFfoodlist.pdf

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For broth-- some swanson is fine, some isn't (example Swanson organic beef is gluten-free, the organic chicken isn't, but one kind of the chicken is). I normally use Wegman's brand (mid-atlantic states) or Knoxx bullion (they disclose all gluten).

With an allergy statement, I will consume products with modified foods starch or flavorings, without it, I won't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The celiac group at delphi forums has a fairly extensive list.

Natural flavoring and broths are things you have to check into. If natural flavoring has wheat it has to be listed, so really your only concern is barley, and the risk of even that is pretty low. Call the company and ask. I've never found rye as a hidden ingredient in anything.

One exception to the natural flavoring thing is meat. If you see any raw meat that says it has natural flavoring or broth added (this is common in poultry and pork), the USDA REQUIRES that the manufacturer list any grain if it's in there. So all you have to do is read the label. This is a separate law from the one that requires the 8 allergens be listed. Frankly I've never found a raw meat that has gluten, although some have reported that Walmart has a beef they add gluten to. It's listed on the package.

I think there are some broths that have wheat, but that would have to be clearly listed. I remember one time calling a caterer and when he mentioned broth, I asked him to read the ingredients. The 4th one was wheat. He was surprised.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use only Herb-Ox. They are labeled gluten and MSG free and come in powders or cubes. Barley Malt is commonly used in a lot of 'natural' flavors and I would always call the company if I am in doubt about the gluten statis of anything.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also use the Wegmans broths, very good. I have to say I was very excited the day I found those at the store. Just to see the little gluten free label. I made so much soup last winter.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Herb-ox is my way too. Makes a really great "broth tea". Something that really helps me fall asleep at night.

Its made by Hormel too, they are really good about providing a nice selection of just normal gluten free foods. Hormel Chili and Dinty Moore beef stew are both gluten-free. In reality, the only two prepackaged things I eat much. I know that one of the types of Hormel Chili is not gluten-free, I believe its the spicy jalape

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We use Kitchen Basics in the brick packs for all our broth. It says gluten-free right on the package.

I find bouillon to be too salty. I wish they made unsalted bouillon but I suspect the salt acts as a preservative. Hubby sometimes uses "Better than Bouillon" in a pinch but it still tastes like bouillon to me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...