Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Yellow Rose

Campbell's Products

Recommended Posts

I am so mad!! I checked all the chili at my local store and found only one that didn't have oatmeal listed. Campbell's Roadhouse chili with beans had no oatmeal and no wheat or anything else. It did say modified food starch but there was no bold letters saying it was from wheat so I thought it was ok. My chili dog was wonderful had it Sat for lunch and didn't feel well Sunday. Slept alot and was hurting all over. Couldn't figure out what I had done. Well today I had another chili dog and remembered Saturday and Sunday. Called Campbell's Co and asked if it was gluten free. It is not on their gluten free list. The operator said it is probably the modified food starch. I questioned the girl asking how come there is not an allergy warning. I thought in the US that if there was one of the major allergens it had to be listed. She apoligized and offered to send me the gluten free list. So my question is how do I trust anything on any label. I know the answer. DON"T!!!!

If such a big company like Campbell's doesn't label correctly how in the world do you know what to buy? This is getting more frustrating by the day. Just when I think I have got it down something like this comes along. Who regulates this and who do I complain to? Tomorrow shoud be such a fun day AGGHHH!!! :

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It was my understanding that Campbell would clearly label any gluten source.

You said chili dog. Could it be the "dog" in your chili dog? Not all frankfurters are gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing is gluten free means No Barley Oats or Rye. Companies are not mandated to list those as an allergen. I am not familiar with the product you are talking about but currently companies do not have to label gluten free, but it a product contains Wheat it does have to listed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The dogs were ok as far as I can tell they were Bar S Jumbo beef franks had water, beef, salt, and a couple of preservitatives will call them tomorrow but have had them before without the chili and no problems. Been using the same mustard for other things without problems. Campbell's chili ingredients are as follows:

water, tomato puree (water, tomato paste) seasoned beef crumbles (beef, salt, spice extractives), diced tomatoes in tomato juice, red kidney beans, kidney beans, contains less than 2% of the following ingredeints: modified food starch, red peppers, green peppers, spice, soy protien, concentrate (carmel color added), jalapeno peppers, salt dehydrated onions sugar, dehydrated garlic paprika, red pepper, soybean oil, soy lecithin mono and diglycerids, mixed tocopherols (to protect flavor), ascorbic acid for flavor, flavoring.

I saw nothing in here that indicated wheat, barley, oats, or rye. Where did I go wrong so I won't do it again. Please advise. I am sick of making myself sick.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The dogs were ok as far as I can tell they were Bar S Jumbo beef franks had water, beef, salt, and a couple of preservitatives will call them tomorrow but have had them before without the chili and no problems. Been using the same mustard for other things without problems. Campbell's chili ingredients are as follows:

water, tomato puree (water, tomato paste) seasoned beef crumbles (beef, salt, spice extractives), diced tomatoes in tomato juice, red kidney beans, kidney beans, contains less than 2% of the following ingredeints: modified food starch, red peppers, green peppers, spice, soy protien, concentrate (carmel color added), jalapeno peppers, salt dehydrated onions sugar, dehydrated garlic paprika, red pepper, soybean oil, soy lecithin mono and diglycerids, mixed tocopherols (to protect flavor), ascorbic acid for flavor, flavoring.

I saw nothing in here that indicated wheat, barley, oats, or rye. Where did I go wrong so I won't do it again. Please advise. I am sick of making myself sick.

There are many places where the gluten could hide in this label, the spice extractives in the beef, the MFS (although doubtful it was here as it should be corn) carmel coloring, this is the most suspect as barley is often used and wheat starch can be also, mono and diglycerides can be wheat derived, mixed tocopherols is another, this is often derived from wheat germ oil, and of course the ambiguous flavoring.

Campbells has an extrememly small gluten-free list. There are only a very few of the items they produce on it. I go with other companies.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The dogs were ok as far as I can tell they were Bar S Jumbo beef franks had water, beef, salt, and a couple of preservitatives will call them tomorrow but have had them before without the chili and no problems. Been using the same mustard for other things without problems. Campbell's chili ingredients are as follows:

water, tomato puree (water, tomato paste) seasoned beef crumbles (beef, salt, spice extractives), diced tomatoes in tomato juice, red kidney beans, kidney beans, contains less than 2% of the following ingredeints: modified food starch, red peppers, green peppers, spice, soy protien, concentrate (carmel color added), jalapeno peppers, salt dehydrated onions sugar, dehydrated garlic paprika, red pepper, soybean oil, soy lecithin mono and diglycerids, mixed tocopherols (to protect flavor), ascorbic acid for flavor, flavoring.

I saw nothing in here that indicated wheat, barley, oats, or rye. Where did I go wrong so I won't do it again. Please advise. I am sick of making myself sick.

I'm newly diagnosed so someone more experienced can chime in if I'm wrong, but I'll tell you what I've found.

ANY time something says Artificial or Natural Flavoring or Coloring, theres a possibility that barley is in it. The only way to tell is call the company and they will all tell you, BUT the ingredients can change over time because they might change suppliers of those ingredients. The only way to be sure is call EVERY time you buy something new that has Artificial or Natural Flavoring and Coloring. I'm trying to stay away from packaged foods right now. It's terribly hard, but the only way I feel safe.

I also was surprised when I bought ground turkey meat the other day and on the package it said "Natural Flavorings". I had to call Wakefern just prior to dinner because I didn't think about ground meat having flavorings in it. Fortunately it didn't or I would have gone hungry that night!

I think the first few months will be the hardest, but once our houses are stocked with some trusted gluten free foods, things will get easier. Trust me though, I get frustrated right now too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm newly diagnosed so someone more experienced can chime in if I'm wrong, but I'll tell you what I've found.

ANY time something says Artificial or Natural Flavoring or Coloring, theres a possibility that barley is in it. The only way to tell is call the company and they will all tell you, BUT the ingredients can change over time because they might change suppliers of those ingredients. The only way to be sure is call EVERY time you buy something new that has Artificial or Natural Flavoring and Coloring. I'm trying to stay away from packaged foods right now. It's terribly hard, but the only way I feel safe.

I also was surprised when I bought ground turkey meat the other day and on the package it said "Natural Flavorings". I had to call Wakefern just prior to dinner because I didn't think about ground meat having flavorings in it. Fortunately it didn't or I would have gone hungry that night!

I think the first few months will be the hardest, but once our houses are stocked with some trusted gluten free foods, things will get easier. Trust me though, I get frustrated right now too.

Campbells is ALSO supposed to label (by law) - "packaged in a facility that processes wheat.. etc". You know MOST of their stuff is NOT gluten-free.. and I've found there is alot of 'cross-contamination' from products. If you are highly sensitive (like myself) - I COMPLETELY stay away from any product which is also packaged in a facility that processes wheat. There are a few exceptions for things I've tried and that they have a complete description of why it's gluten free - an example is certain gluten free products ARE processed in a facility with wheat but state 'separate assembly lines' but by federal guidelines MUST list the shared facility. I personnally buy NO CAMPBELLS products.. I've found they are all bad! Stick with Progressive soup (no problems yet with their gluten-free stuff) and if you like clams their clam chouder is supposedly really good (I'm allergic to shellfish too soooo..).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am so mad!! I checked all the chili at my local store and found only one that didn't have oatmeal listed.

Do you have the Hormel brand in your area? Hormel chili WITH beans are on the Hormel gluten free product list. (I haven't checked in the last couple of mos, so you need to check for yourself). Hormel's chili without beans does contain wheat.

As others have said, there are more "gotcha's" than can be uncovered just reading the ingredient lists of some manufacturers. Some, such as Kraft have a policy to disclose ALL gluten. Many manufacturers, however, will just list the 8 major allergens (which will cover wheat, but not oats, barley, rye). Malt (barley) flavoring is fairly common and doesn't have to be listed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Campbell's chili ingredients are as follows:

water, tomato puree (water, tomato paste) seasoned beef crumbles (beef, salt, spice extractives), diced tomatoes in tomato juice, red kidney beans, kidney beans, contains less than 2% of the following ingredeints: modified food starch, red peppers, green peppers, spice, soy protien, concentrate (carmel color added), jalapeno peppers, salt dehydrated onions sugar, dehydrated garlic paprika, red pepper, soybean oil, soy lecithin mono and diglycerids, mixed tocopherols (to protect flavor), ascorbic acid for flavor, flavoring.

Campbells does not have a very long list of gluten-free items, but their labeling practices are very good. It is their policy to disclose all gluten ingredients, not just wheat. It is possible to get a gluten-free list from them, but those lists are obsolete before the ink is dry since formulations can change. Because of Campbells labeling practices, I do not see anything in that list that indicates that there are gluten ingredients. CC is always a possibility.

Hope you are feeling better.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't even bother with Campbell's products.

I have the following rules in place:

The less ingredients in a product the better.

If in doubt leave it out. If I can not identify all ingredients as being gluten free I don't eat it until I verify the product is gluten free.

If a company makes gluten containing products I assume there is the possibility of Cross Contamination until I can verify otherwise.

I have a simple quick and easy recipe for Chili. PM me if you would like it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Campbells does not have a very long list of gluten-free items, but their labeling practices are very good. It is their policy to disclose all gluten ingredients, not just wheat. It is possible to get a gluten-free list from them, but those lists are obsolete before the ink is dry since formulations can change. Because of Campbells labeling practices, I do not see anything in that list that indicates that there are gluten ingredients. CC is always a possibility.

Hope you are feeling better.

It isn't very long, and chili isn't on it.

Their web site talks about allergens, but many companies don't consider gluten an allergen. Their list says, "We will make every effort to keep this list up to date, but some products made without gluten may not be included."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi all,

I make my own chili and freeze it. I make it with taco seasoning and chili powder. Comes out great and the kids will eat it as well. Let me know if you want to know more about the recipe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Although Campbell's gluten free listing in short, they are a very respected company, IMO.

Here is a gluten free list via snail mail:

Chicken Broccoli Cheese Chunky Soup

Savory Lentil Selct Soup

Traditional Sauce - Prego - all sizes

Three Cheese Sauce - Prego- 26oz

Organic Sauces - Prego - All sized - Prego

Mushroom - Prego - 4lb. 3oz

Lower Sodium Beef Broth - 14oz

RTS beef Broth - 14.5oz

RTD Chicken Broth - 14.5 & 49.5oz

natural Goodness Chicken Broth - all sizes

Vegetable Broth - 14oz

Organic Broth - All sizes

Premium Chunk Chicken Breast in Water - all sizes

Preminum White & Dark Chunk Chicken - all sizes

Mixin' Chicken - 5oz

All Champbell's Tomato Juice

All V8 Vegetable Juices

All V8 V-Fusion Blends

All V8 Splash Blends

All Diet V8 Splash Juice Blends

Orange Creme Splash Smoothies

Peach Mango Smoothies

Stawberry Banana Smoothies

Enchelada Pace Sauces

Picante Pace Sauces

Thick & chunkdy Pace Salsa

Thick & chunky Flovored Pace Salsas

Organic Pace Picante - mild - med.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry it took me so long to get back on this but I have checked with the hotdog co and they only have 2 products that are not gluten free. It was on their web site. My dogs were not one of those products so I am going to assume it was the chili. I checked everything else I put on my hotdog, mustard, and relish, with their companies and no problems. I am going to make my own chili from now on. Someone said Hormel but I think it had oatmeal in it. I looked at all the chili brands and they all had oatmeal in them but the Campbells that is why I chose that one because it looked ok. I am getting used to cooking everything from scratch again. I used to have to do this for one of my boys who was alergic to BHT, BHA, and several food colorings. I am feeling better this last week and have been able to reduce my pain meds. Fruit is starting to appeal to me more and more and am finding myself wanting simpler foods. I guess as we clean out our systems natural foods is what we need and crave. Thanks for all the advice from everyone.

Yellow Rose

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Just a random question: Why would any put oatmeal into chili?

Same reaason they put breadcrumbs into tuna salad--it stretches it cheaply. Oats are cheaper than meat. Bread crumbs are cheaper than tuna. The bottom line is $$$.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Same reaason they put breadcrumbs into tuna salad--it stretches it cheaply. Oats are cheaper than meat. Bread crumbs are cheaper than tuna. The bottom line is $$$.

I was thinking it made it thicker as well. But every brand I picked up had oatmeal in it. Go figure.

Yellow Rose

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We use Hormel Chili with Beans all the time. Bar S hotdogs are gluten-free, I have contacted to company to verify.

Hope you are feeling better soon! It does stink that some companies use oatmeal. wheat starch, etc as a filler to make a product go farther.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dear Yellow Rose,

Hormel Chili With Beans is great! Plus, it goes on everything, as they say! ;) You can make chili dogs, chili cheese fries with Ore-Ida Fries, then take some Kraft Cheese or Velveeta and voila! That is good stuff! Thanks to Kraft, Wal-Mart's Great Value Brand, Hormel, Ore-Ida/Heinz, and some others, we do not have to starve, nor do we have to eat tasteless fare!

Dear Momma Goose,

Thank you for the Campbell's list! I did not have theirs. The site I went to before could not reach the page. I do not know why. I have it in my documents now!

Sincerely,

NoGluGirl

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did find the Hormel Chili with Beans at my local store. Don't know about the first time I was looking maybe I picked up the one with out beans. I was thrilled to find one I can use for a quick fix. I really love chili dogs.

Thanks everyone,

Yellow Rose

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I did find the Hormel Chili with Beans at my local store. Don't know about the first time I was looking maybe I picked up the one with out beans. I was thrilled to find one I can use for a quick fix. I really love chili dogs.

Thanks everyone,

Yellow Rose

Dear Yellow Rose,

That is what is great about Hormel. It is all over the place! The chili with beans really does have many uses. You can eat it by itself, stuff a potato with it, cheese, and sour cream, or pour it on top of a hotdog or Ore-Ida french fries with some cheese. We have options! :)

Sincerely,

NoGluGirl

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sorry it took me so long to get back on this but I have checked with the hotdog co and they only have 2 products that are not gluten free. It was on their web site. My dogs were not one of those products so I am going to assume it was the chili. I checked everything else I put on my hotdog, mustard, and relish, with their companies and no problems. I am going to make my own chili from now on. Someone said Hormel but I think it had oatmeal in it. I looked at all the chili brands and they all had oatmeal in them but the Campbells that is why I chose that one because it looked ok. I am getting used to cooking everything from scratch again. I used to have to do this for one of my boys who was alergic to BHT, BHA, and several food colorings. I am feeling better this last week and have been able to reduce my pain meds. Fruit is starting to appeal to me more and more and am finding myself wanting simpler foods. I guess as we clean out our systems natural foods is what we need and crave. Thanks for all the advice from everyone.

Yellow Rose

Hormel doesn't have oatmeal in it. I have some right here. It's the plain chili with beans. Now I can't speak for the other varieties. But I think they are all gluten free as well. The ingredients of this are:

Water, beef, beans, tomatoes (water tomato paste), corn flour, salt, flavoring, chili powder (chili peppers, flavoring), sugar, modified food starch, green chiles, onions, jalapeno peppers.

I know some people might question the flavorings and the modified food starch, but I've seen it listed elsewhere on this same board as being one of their gluten free products and my daughter eats it with no problems.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...