Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

Does anyone know if the eel(unagi) at sushi places is gluten free. I love it and have not been eating it since I do not know if it is gluten free. It has kind of like a glaze on it and I do not know if it has soy sauce in it.

Thanks!


Positive blood work

Negative biopsy

Positive dietary response

Gluten free since March 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Does anyone know if the eel(unagi) at sushi places is gluten free. I love it and have not been eating it since I do not know if it is gluten free. It has kind of like a glaze on it and I do not know if it has soy sauce in it.

Thanks!

If my memory is correct from posts long ago, I believe that ell is NOT gluten free or at least in the preparation of it.

Perhaps a search here for sushi could deliver an answer.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unagi is glazed with a teriaki-like sauce that contains soy sauce, so unless they use a wheat-free soy sauce (which is highly unlikely!), it is NOT gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please stay away from eel. My boyfriend is from Japan and says that almost always restaurants get the eel frozen and premarinated in a sauce that has gluten. He said occasionally in Japan you may find fresh unmarinated eel at a restaurant but not here in the U.S. Not worth the risk!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks everyone! I thought that it probably had some soy sauce in there somewhere, but just wanted to double check. No eel for me :(


Positive blood work

Negative biopsy

Positive dietary response

Gluten free since March 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites