Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Tanzanite

Oats And Rice Are Connected So How Come We Can Eat Rice?

Recommended Posts

I just don't get it. Oats and rice are on the same 'branch' according to 'Celiac Disease, a hidden epidemic' book by Peter H.R. Green.

So how come we are safe to eat Rice but Oats are troublesome for so many?

This is all new to me, maybe someone can explain.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I just don't get it. Oats and rice are on the same 'branch' according to 'Celiac Disease, a hidden epidemic' book by Peter H.R. Green.

So how come we are safe to eat Rice but Oats are troublesome for so many?

This is all new to me, maybe someone can explain.

Oats contain the protein avenin, which is technically different from the gluten in wheat, barley and rye. It is the gliadin in the wheat, the horedin in the barley, and the secalin in the rye that are the real culprits for celiacs. Avenin in oats causes some celiacs problems, but not all. There is a small subset of celiacs that cannot tolerate oats in any form, gluten-free or not.

The real problem with most oats is that they are contaminated with gluten grains during growing/harvesting/storing. The only oats that are guaranteed to be free of gluten contamination are grown in dedicated fields and processed on dedicated equipment.

Hope this helps.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...