Jump to content
  • Sign Up
sombrita220

Distilled Vinegar

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

You have happened on a bone of contention for many celiacs :D I am of the opinion that the distillation process does not allow the gluten particles to pass through. I eat distilled vinegars and alcohol with out any problems. Unfortunately, I am extremely sensitive so I would know if something had gluten.

DO NOT eat malt vinegar or apple cider flavored vinegar (flavored being the key word, apple cider vinegar is safe).

However, having said all of that there are celiacs who do react to vinegars distilled from grains. Which is where the controversy comes in!

Hez

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to all the Celiac groups and the American Dietetic Association, distilled vinegar is safe. Many distilled vinegars are not made from wheat in the first place, so those are safe from the beginning.

https://www.celiac.com/st_prod.html?p_prodi...-49107582993.25

Anything listed as "vinegar," is, by FDA labeling laws, apple cider vinegar, which is safe. As stated above, malt vinegar and some flavored vinegars are unsafe.

http://www.fda.gov/ora/compliance_ref/cpg/...cpg525-825.html

Most do fine with vinegars, but, if for some reason, you find you continuously react to a vinegar (or, any food), of course, don't continue to consume it!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I heard that the proteins containing gluten in distilled vinegar are removed in the distilling process. Is that correct? Can celiacs safely consume products with distilled vinegar in them?

what about distilled grain vinegar?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think people are missing an important point. Distilled vinegar isn't fit for consumption, so why worry about it? :D

That being said, most vinegars, with the exceptions noted above, are gluten-free.

The distillation process should remove the gluten from all vinegar regardless of source as it does from alcohol.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am one of the celiacs who does react to distilled grains. Not everyone does. We use Heinz distilled it is distilled from either corn or wood and is safe, last time I checked. The only way to know for sure if you react is to challenge it like you would any suspect item. Try it when you are symptom free and have it at least a couple of times a day for at least 5 days and watch for a gluten reaction. Perhaps you could make a batch of quick fridge pickles for the trial. No one can tell you if you will react, for sure and for certain, but your body will let you know. It seems also that folks who do react are more likely ones who have DH, at least from what I have seen. Hopefully you will be one who doesn't react as it makes the condiment world so much easier.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi All, Revisiting an old topic here. My husband BBQ'd this week with Uncle Dougie's Wing Sauce - very conspicuously labeled as gluten free. After I had a significant reaction (mood swings, brain fog, stomach upset, anemia), we read the fine print and found distilled malt vinegar on the label. I wrote the company to express my dismay, and they responded that the distilling process removes gluten and makes the product fit for celiacs. I beg to differ! My reaction was significant. Is there an official document on "distilled malt vinegar" somewhere? It definitely messed me up.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, dlmca said:

Hi All, Revisiting an old topic here. My husband BBQ'd this week with Uncle Dougie's Wing Sauce - very conspicuously labeled as gluten free. After I had a significant reaction (mood swings, brain fog, stomach upset, anemia), we read the fine print and found distilled malt vinegar on the label. I wrote the company to express my dismay, and they responded that the distilling process removes gluten and makes the product fit for celiacs. I beg to differ! My reaction was significant. Is there an official document on "distilled malt vinegar" somewhere? It definitely messed me up.

I don't have an answer but one thing to check is whether the vinegar is actually distilled.  There a Sarson's Distilled Malt Vinegar (UK) but if you look at their process on the their web site (how we make it), it's fermented and doesn't appear to be distilled (unless they use a different process not on the site).  Distilled malt vinegar appears to be a UK thing.  You might be able to learn whether the distilling process used for malt vinegar is a true distilling process and how the UK categorizes it for gluten content.   I'm curious about it because it would be nice to be able to use malt vinegar, but I won't dare take a chance without some reliable validation of gluten content.

https://www.sarsons.co.uk/range/distilled-malt-vinegar

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I personally have had problems with store brand white distilled vinegar, but not pure distilled alcoholic spirits. I noticed this as I used a diluted cheap vinegar as a cleaning agent (which I put in a spray bottle) and would always get sick after cleaning - except when I wore a mask and gloves.

I understand very well that from a theoretical perspective, proteins cannot make it into the final product of a distilled product as I have  worked in a chemistry lab and taken a number of university-level chemistry lab courses. So yes, in theory, distilled vinegar is perfectly safe - but my experience has demonstrated to me that you cannot necessarily assume ideal, theoretic care from manufacturers, who are not necessarily thinking about the celiac consumer. I would suspect that the problem that some (including myself) experience with such products is that there imight be some CC to the "after" distilled product - perhaps a shared line/vat or perhaps that the raw source ingredients (which could include wheat) are not adequately separate from the finished product during production. For vinegars, I always go for apple or white wine vinegar, and avoid store/cheap brands. Vinegar is still super cheap even if you buy a "fancy" brand, so I feel that the slight cost increase is worth it in this case.

In the case of alcoholic spirits (not your question, but still relevant to the topic), it's also possible for post-processing ingredients (flavour, mash) to be added back that could contain gluten. I personally avoid all alcohols that are not wine or certified gluten-free beer/cider, because the regulations about what ingredients can be used is very tight for those products, and they are less likely to be produced in shared facilities. That said, I would not criticize anyone for being more expansive in the area of vinegar or distilled alcohol - you must find your balance point.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...