Celiac.com Sponsor:

Celiac.com Sponsor:

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

bethb

Celiac Blood Panel - Need Advice

Hi,

This is my first time posting to this board, but I recently came across and found so much valuable information! So thank you already. I recently had the ELISA antibody blood test for food allergies done and came back with about a dozen mild allergies and a strong allergy to casein, milk, eggs. By keeping a food journal over the last 8 weeks, I'd actually already realized I couldn't tolerate dairy, and about 3 weeks ago, I cut it out of my diet - WOW, what a difference! But my concern is this:

8 weeks ago I went gluten free. After 6 weeks of being gluten-free, I had the blood test done. Unfortunately, my dr told me it wouldn't affect the test-results to be gluten-free, but the info I've read on here has led me to believe otherwise. So I planned to do a wheat test (eating wheat in pure form). Unfortunately, I didn't end up doing a pure wheat test. I ended up at the 7 week mark eating wheat along with alcohol and various other restaurant items (out of town wedding, bachelorette party weekend)....After 5 days of that I felt very sick. Could've been something other than wheat since there was an overall dietary change involved, however, it WAS the first time I ate wheat in 7 weeks.

So..flash to today, I've been gluten-free again for 5 days now. Each day I feel a little bit better. In the test results I just got back (mentioned above - antibody blood), I was negative for wheat. However, like I said, it was done after being gluten-free for 7 weeks. I'm not sure if that might have made a diff? I am now having a Celiac Blood Panel done. My qu's are this:

1. How effective is the Blood test for Celiac? A biopsy of the intestine seems very invasive, so if the same results can be found through a blood test, it leaves me wondering if the blood test is effective?