This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

8 Year Old Awaiting Results

macyashlynn

macyashlynn Newbie

My 8 year old just had the blood test for celiac today. I am new to this process and not sure what the steps are to diagnosis. My 25 year old brother was diagnosed 5 years ago and has very severe celiac (gluten and dairy free diet has helped but stress also is making him sick).

My daughter has had bowel problems for 5 years. Very loose and fowl smelling bowels. At time she cannot seem to control them. She uses the restroom immediately after eating, sometimes during a meal. She has bowel movements 3-6 times per day. She has lately been complaining of stomach pain (which is why the DR. is finally testing her).

My questions are for after the results. If the blood test is negative should I move forward with more testing? And if positive will more tests be done to confirm? My Dr. seemed to think that my daughter has the flu (for months on end???). He only ordered the test at my insistence.

Any advice and/or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Arpita Apprentice