Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

amandadn

9 Month Old

Hi everyone, I am new to all of this and found this looking for wheat free recipies for my daughter. The more I read about celiac, the more I wonder if she has this. We go to the doctor next Wednesday and I was wondering if you had any suggestions as to what to ask, expect, etc. We are looking into the blood test, but I do not know much about it or any of this. I do know that she cannot eat wheat, milk, eggs yoks and that she WANTS to eat everything. She is just now getting to the finger food age and I am scared to give her anything, for fear of her getting sick. Her Dad, Grandpa and Aunt all have type 1 diabeties, is there a link between the two? Are there different symptoms between allergies and celiac?

I am sorry for rambleing on, my head is just spinning and I do not know where to turn.

Thanks for your help,

Amanda

You will find great support here!

Is she not allowed to have wheat , eggs,etc b/c she's too young or b/c it is allergey?

I know for my daughter , she's 2 1/2 had the blood test done and it was important for her to be on wheat until the test.

What kind of reaction does she have when you give her wheat? Food allergies can mimic the symtoms of Celiac (at least on the outside!).

T1 diabetes and celiac are closeley related. They are both autoimmune disorders and if you have 1, you have a much higher chance of having the other. Do a google search for "diabetes and celiac" and see what pops up. In fact, I have heard of pedi's testing all of the T1 diabetics for celiac, even if they don't have symptoms.