Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest thatchickali

Why Is The Commercial gluten-free Food And Drug Listing So Expensive?

Guest thatchickali

So I'm already in debt for all the useless medical testing before my diagnosis, now I'm a college student having to shop gluten-free and spending a lot of money doing that. So I got the email update and read that I could buy the commercial gluten-free food listing. I was expecting it to be around $20 because I realize making that is someone's job and they deserve to get paid for it, so I'm not expecting it for free, but ALMOST 80 dollars??? Why would someone want to profit so much off of a disease?

Everything else is expensive enough...

$80 is expensive, and that's certainly money you don't need to spend. This site has all the info you need on gluten-free brands. NoGluGirl posts a huge list of gluten-free brands a lot - try searching for her posts. Nini also has a link in her signature to download a Newbie Survivor Kit that has a list of gluten-free brands.

Why would someone want to profit off this? Because they can? Celiac is one of those rare diseases that doesn't require drugs or expensive medical treatments to deal with making it completely unprofitable for the medical industry. This is maybe the only way they can make money off this disease?

Some of those products are advertised here to help support this forum. Lists such as these were a great help for me in the beginning when label reading was a daunting task.

I would recommend it once. After getting the hang of label reading, lists are no longer necessary.

I agree---learning to read labels is the most effective way to make educated decisions. Using the lists as a backup is helpful, but you can't rely on lists all the time because things can change.

Do you need help with labels?