This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Test Results For My 10yo Dd - Please Help

JulieMamato5

JulieMamato5 Newbie

I am quite new to understanding about Celiac disease and gluten intolerance. My 10yo dd has had intestinal cramping for over a year, with many tests, and nothing coming back positive. She also has diarrhea. It seemed to start with a sudden onset. At the encouragement of a friend who has celiac, I had my dd's blood tested. My dr said that the test was negative, but I had him send me a copy of the test. Here are the results

IGA - 83.8 MG/DL

TIgA - 7.9 U/ML

And, beneath the TIgA test this is written

Comments: Reference range for transglutaminase IGA ABS

Less than 4.0 U/ML.....Negative

4.0-10.0 U/ML.....Weak Positive

Greater than 10.0......Positve

Is this true? And, what does this mean? It the "normal range" 0-19? Is she a weak positive? She does have 2 aunts who have never tested for celiac, but avoid gluten because it makes them feel sick.

We also took her off gluten after this test was done, and she has not complained of cramping in 7 days!!! She felt so sick for so long, that she told me that she didn't care if she couldn't eat "regular" desserts any more, she wanted to feel better!

Any help would be appreciated!!! Julie

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mftnchn Explorer

Hopefully others can contribute here. My impression is that you only had two of the five tests that are recommended on this site.

Also what is the reference range for the first test result?

2kids4me Contributor