This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Recovering Professionally?

SillyBoo

SillyBoo Newbie

I would love to hear from others who have had career interruptions from Celiac.

My work suffered horribly for close to a year and a half before diagnosis. After establishing myself as a very valued professional, my performance started to slip, exacerbated by the "supervisor from hell" who was eager to discredit me anyway. Rather than trying to assist when I was obviously having difficulties, she made things much worse. Once I finally had to give up my denial, and admit that I was ill, I took nearly 3 months off (FMLA). AFter a few months back, it became clear that I couldn't stay there, so I left 6 months ago.

So now I am doing some contract work for my former employer (hired by the Executive Director, NOT my former supervisor), but I am so burnt out because of the way I was treated, and the intense stress of that situation for so long, that I am finding it extremely painful to do the work. I keep wanting to do ANYTHING but this work, or any other work in my field. I have a Master's degree, and am hesitant to give up the profession and pay, but I can't stand to do the work! My passion for the field has turned to disgust, and that's just not right.