This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Stuffed Turkey. Is It Ok To Eat?

Guest Cari5393

Guest Cari5393

I am new to this gluten free diet. I had a positive biopsy almost a month ago. (Celiac) I will be at my mother-in-laws for Thanksgiving and I am wondering if I can eat the turkey meat if it has been stuffed with gluten bread? My husband and mother in law think it will be fine, "...just take the breast from the top it wont touch the bread." But the more I read about cc, the more I am doubting that I can. Any advice would be great.

Thanks

Cari

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

psawyer Proficient

I would not consider any part of the turkey to be safe. If, as is often the case, the juices from the cooking bird are used to baste it, then the gluten can make the trip to any part of the bird.

It is not difficult to make gluten-free stuffing by substituting corn or rice bread, and possibly adding a bit more liquid to the recipe. Search the board for stuffing and you will find several tried and proven recipes.

Ursa Major Collaborator

No, you shouldn't eat turkey stuffed with gluten bread. Do you think your mother-in-law would be willing to make stuffing with gluten-free bread? We had a completely gluten-free meal for our Canadian Thanksgiving, including gluten-free stuffing, and it was delicious. Everybody loved it, and I hardly got any, it was that good!

Jestgar Rising Star

I've stuffed turkeys and you get crumbs all over the bird. I'd be pretty nervous about eating meat from a stuffed turkey.

Ridgewalker Contributor