Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

lilypad23

Brain Fog

In some ways, my brain fog has gotten better. I'm better in social situations and I talk more. Also, thankfully, I've gotten much better at math. However, in some ways it has gotten worse. For instance, I'm a student and I used to be a pretty good writer. Even at my worst, I could still write a decent paper. However, this semester, its like I can't write at all. English is my favorite subject but every time I read something or start writing, its like my brain fog kicks in big time and everything that I just had in my head goes straight out. I don't know if its stress or something else, but its really starting to get on my nerves and its affecting my school work. Is this normal? Should I go to the doctor? I haven't been since July or August, before I got the official diagnosis from Enterolab. Also, how long does it take for brain fog to truly go away?

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

From personal experience, my brain fog has never completely gone away. I keep notes, I write things down that I don't want to forget, then sometimes I forget where I put my notes. I think many of us celiac's also have ADD. I see many of the characteristic's in myself and now, over the years, I can look back and see them. I have 2 son's with ADD and I thought they inherited it from their dad!!! :P OOPS. Don't tell him, ok!

You may have to learn a new way of doing things. In time, you will pull it altogether again.

Deb

Long Island, NY

Double DQ1, subtype 6

We urge all doctors to take time to listen to your patients.. don't "isolate" symptoms but look at the whole spectrum. If a patient tells you s/he feels as if s/he's falling apart and "nothing seems to be working properly", chances are s/he's right!