Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Rosebud710

Culver's Ice Cream

Recommended Posts

I plan on taking my son to Culver's today and was wondering if anyone has had problems with their icecream. Their nutrition information won't specify if the ice cream is gluten-free because they have many flavors. Obviously, if the ice cream flavor of the day has "cheesecake" in the name it's assumed there's gluten in it. But I should be safe with the vanilla or chocolate, right?

Thanks!

Laura


Laura

Diagnosed with Hypothyroidism 1992

Diagnosed Adult ADD and Panic Disorder 2005

Diagnosed Gluten Intolerant 2006

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Culvers has a pamphlet on allergy information in the restaurant and it lists gluten in it. I recall the chocolate and vanilla custard to be gluten free. Ask for a clean scoop - they just put it in rinse water when they're done with it, if the flavor of the day is not gluten-free. (Or to just be safe in case it came in contact with a cone.)

I love their cashew chicken salad!


Tummy troubles began in early 2005.

Misdiagnosed with IBS in May 2006, meds didn't work.

June 2007 IgA results 137.8, MD said "normal" is <20. Gluten intolerant.

7/2/07 endoscopy indicated Celiac Sprue. Gluten free since that day.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Culver's has been very accommodating about gluten-free and allergy related requests. My daughter loves a chocolate shake but it has to be made with the chocolate culver's custard, not the chocolate syrup. We ask for a clean scoop and to have them clean the shake machine. Most often they will actually turn and show you as they are doing the cleaning. We usually ask for the manager, to make sure it is handled appropriately.

We did have one occasion, where they made it with the chocolate syrup. My daughter noticed that it was a different consistency, before she took a drink. We took it back in, where they apologized and quickly made her a safe, new shake.

Their pamphlet is very complete. Before we knew to check it, my daughter was getting the chocolate shake with raspberries. Interestingly, she most often got a stomach ache. I was reading the pamphlet one day and realized that most of their fruit toppings, including raspberries, have gluten in them. Now, we know so much more and try to check all of the ingredients, even if they sound gluten-free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I plan on taking my son to Culver's today and was wondering if anyone has had problems with their icecream. Their nutrition information won't specify if the ice cream is gluten-free because they have many flavors. Obviously, if the ice cream flavor of the day has "cheesecake" in the name it's assumed there's gluten in it. But I should be safe with the vanilla or chocolate, right?

Thanks!

Laura

You know it's funny I did the same thing when I went to culvers I grabbed the nutrition information and couldn't find if the ice cream was ok. Let me start by telling you that it's custard not ice cream :) Then let me tell you how I found out if it is ok or not. When you look at cones/dishes of ice cream look for the plain vanilla dish you will see it has no gluten. :) I'm providing the link where I got my information enjoy

http://www.culvers.com/menu/allergens.aspx

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Keep in mind that this thread is really old, but you can check their website to see if their salads are gluten free. I think they have a pretty thorough allergen listing the last time I checked. You do need to be careful there, as with any fast food place, since the probability of cross-contamination could be high.

For what it's worth...I usually get the plain chocolate or vanilla custard in a dish and do fine.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter