This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Anyone Have Tips To The Gluten Free Life

k-kitkat

k-kitkat Rookie

Im kinda new to the gluten-free life style so if anyone has any tips please feel free to post

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

One thing that I wish I had learned at the doctor's office was look for gluten in things besides food. Soaps, Shampoos, Lotions....etc.

Also watch for CC (cross contaminiation) meaning crumbs on countertops, or wooden spoons, toasters...etc.

Hope that helps

k-kitkat Rookie

CC thats very interesting i never really thought of that

lovegrov Collaborator

You might check out the info here.

Open Original Shared Link

richard

kaitethehutt Newbie

If you're having a bad day because your family is eating cake and you're not (haha, speaking from experience, of course), a trip down to your local health food store might get you some good results. Occasionally, places will stock gluten free cakes or cookie mixes. I once found gluten free cinnamon buns; I think I cried from joy. Coffee is another thing that makes me feel a bit more normal, although I'd stay away from most flavored coffees and teas and such. But it definitely makes things better to have a pick-me-up, believe me!!

loco-ladi Contributor

Use your sudden urges to your benefit...... you will get a sudden urge for the oddest things...... in my case a peanut butter sandwich (I always hated those) use the energy to find a safe gluten-free solution to get you thru it......

want chocolate chip cookies, search online or locally and find some that are gluten-free