This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Diet And Diagnosis

An-Onion

An-Onion Rookie

Hi everyone. Forgive me if this turns into a really long story, but I'm pretty nervous and I have a lot of questions, probably, so try to bear with me.

I'm a college student - the prototypical starving type, and a science major (yay chemistry!) to boot. Even though I've always taken care of myself - eaten good foot (vegetables! \o/), been active (soccer, martial arts, hiking and backpacking, kayaking, running), my health has never been great. I've always gotten sick easily and had other health problems. The last two years, though, my health really went down the tubes. I'd get sick, stay sick for six to eight weeks, get better for a week or two, then back to being sick. During the periods I was sick, I was pretty much just able to sleep and (barely) keep up with my coursework. I couldn't drive, I couldn't excercise, I couldn't do much of anything except sleep and sleep. I'd have muscle and joint pain, constant GI problems, lung and bronchial problems, anemia, and trouble with bleeding (actually, the bleeding is the easy part. it's the stopping that is hard). I'd get a paper cut, and it would bleed for days. And I was constantly exhausted, despite sleeping 12+ hours a night. Needless to say, I couldn't keep a job. I would go to the doctor, be diagnosed with sinusitis, or massive bronchitis, or something in that line, be given some antibiotics, and be sent on my way. No one would pay any attention to my complaints of the other symptoms, so I just dealt with it.