Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Rindy

Help With Board And Health Food Store

Recommended Posts

I am brand new to this forum and am having trouble getting around in the website to find replies to my post and other information. I know it will take time and I will learn, but if anyone has quick help that would be great.

Also, I am less than a month from being diagnosed Celiac and have done tons of research online and also have met with my dietician. He was great and after reading other stories, after I FINALLY went to a gastroenterologist, he diagnosed me within a few months. Anyway, I went to a health food store, they carried a lot of stuff besides gluten free, but I found a box of crackers that said the company supported the celiac organization and I asked the clerk if they were gluten free. He said well, yes, it has Celiac organization on the front here. Anyway, I bought them, have been munching away and two days later, read the ingredients, duh!!, and saw there was whey in them. Assuming these are not GOOD and NOT GLUTEN FREE! So, that taught me to be very aware to always read the ingredients as the box or covers can be deceiving.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Whey is from dairy. Do watch out for "made in a facility that also processes wheat". There is at least one brand of cracker with the Celiac Foundation stuff on the front that has that label as well. Depending on your sensitivity, or how you choose to come down on the issue of cross contamination in manufacturing, you may want to avoid those things made in facilities with wheat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am assuming he bought Nut Thins. People are divided on those. I personally eat them all the time with no problems. I know others who will not touch them.


~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~

Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

36_22_10[1].gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi & welcome

I agree with the other two posters... Unless your are also dairy free whey is ok...... I think if you remember that if a product states no wheat , that does not mean no gluten . But if a product stated no gluten then it is safe....... So I always tell my newbies to look for products that states no gluten & you can feel safe about it ... Unless of coursr you are one of the very sensitive people the I would say only buy products that are made in a dedeciated faciliculty.I know it sounds like a riddle but once you got it it will stick with you......

There are many excellent recipes in the baking section, be sure to spend some time there!!!!!

IF you want some cream of the crop stuff let me know & I can direct you to finding what you are cravings . I'm a mentor for my area.... specializing in finding your favorite foods gluten-free.

blessings

mamaw

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the reference website. It is great. I did notice that the pkg said the crackers were processed in a facility where wheat is processed. My dietician said to really watch issues with cc.

This might help. This list is on our website celiac.com

https://www.celiac.com/articles/181/1/Safe-...ents/Page1.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest j_mommy

I eat things processed in the same facitilty...you need to call and find out what their policy is. Some companies wash their lines down and the first thing done is gluten-free and they run gluten containing things after...so I don't discount everything that says that...you just need to be proactive and call.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can set your preferences to get emails with responses to threads you've started or subscribed to. That is the easiest way to find out. Just go to "my controls" and look under options & email.

If you want to see new posts generally, hit "view new posts."


McDougall diet (low fat vegan) since 6/00

Gluten free since 1/6/07

Soy free and completely casein and egg free since 2/15/07

Yeast free, on and off, since 3/1/07 -- I can't notice any difference one way or the other

Enterolab results -- 2/15/07

Fecal Antigliladin IgA 140 (Normal Range <10 units)

Fecal Antitissue Transglutaminase IgA 50 (Normal Range <10 units)

Quantitative Microscopic Fecal Fat Score 517 (Normal Range <300 units)

Fecal anti-casein (cow's milk) IgA antibody 127 (Normal Range <10 units)

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0501

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 06xx

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 1,1 (subtype 5,6)

Fecal anti-ovalbumin (chicken egg) IgA antibody 11 (Normal range <10 units)

Fecal Anti-Saccharomyces cerevisiae (dietary yeast) IgA 11 (Normal range <10 units)

Fecal Anti-Soy IgA 119 (Normal Range < 10 units)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites