This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

6 Bread/cake Disasters In A Row- Advice Needed

Lisa16

Lisa16 Collaborator

I am a newbie. I have been trying out the prepackaged stuff experimentally to see if I can live with it.

I have been having some trouble in the bread/cake area. After trying a few pre-made loaves (heavy as heck, similar to hammers! Tres yuckie.) I quickly decided to try a few bread mixes, with some bad results. I have a new 2 lb oster bread machine.

I started with the Chebe packs-- the red one with chese came out very well, but a girl cannot live on cheese rolls alone. The green package was way too dry (like little dry rocks!) and the yellow mix came out on the dry side too. The trouble is that if you don't cook it long enough it seems like the insides are still not done. Any thoughts about what went wrong? Nor is it a very good bread for, say, sandwiches.

Then I got a cake mix from the gluten free pantry. I followed the directions, but the cake was absolutely not done in the middle (when I turned it over to get it out of the pan, the whole middle fell out and it was still raw. However, the edges of the top were done to the point of nearly burning. What gives? This never happened with a regular mix!

New I attempted the gluten free pantry french bread/ pizza dough mix. Not only did that mix cost over 5$, but it took nearly 4 hours to make in the newly christened gluten-free bread machine. And to top it off, it was inedible-- quite similar to one of the pre-made loaves I bought early in consistency, flavor and texture. It was almost grainy. So that was a bust. Let's see if my squirrels eat it!