Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


0
Carriefaith

Worcestershire Sauce - Are There Any Gluten-Free Brands?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

Thanks for the posting and welcome to the forum. Just wanted you to know that chances are, you will not get a response. This is a really old posting!


Non-functioning Gall bladder Removal Surgery 2005

Diagnosed via Blood Test and Endoscopy: March 2013

Hashimoto's Thyroiditis -- Stable 2014

Anemia -- Resolved

Fractures (vertebrae): June 2013

Osteopenia/osteoporosis -- June 2013

Allergies and Food Intolerances

Diabetes -- January 2014

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hi, Gluten free sense January 22 2015. The bottle I have Says it has "Natural Flavorings". That is a way to hide the gluten in it. Hamburg also may contain Wheat. I got a pack at walmart and Aldi's. Both made me very ill. I hahve celiacs.

It is highly unlikely that ground beef would contain wheat without it being on the label. Fillers like wheat and soy must be listed if they are added to meat as a filler. The  sauce might be a possibility. If you have doubts contact the company that makes it. Wheat has to be declared on the label as it is one of the 7 allergins and barley malt would also usually be listed.  What brand was it?

How were the items prepared? Did you grill on a grill that was used before you went gluten free? That might cross contaminate you if any gluten marinades or other items like buns were cooked on it before. 

Do also keep in mind that as celiacs we often think any illness is celiac related. Sometimes it is just a virus or food poisoning etc. 

Hope you are feeling better soon.

If you haven't already read the Newbie 101 thread at the top of the Coping section. There are many different and unexpected sources for CC. 


Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying

"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002

Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis

All bold resoved or went into remission in time with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002

 Gene Test Aug 2007

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hi, Gluten free sense January 22 2015. The bottle I have Says it has "Natural Flavorings". That is a way to hide the gluten in it. Hamburg also may contain Wheat. I got a pack at walmart and Aldi's. Both made me very ill. I hahve celiacs.

 

 

In the US, and many countries - if wheat is added it must be listed.  Plain meat isn't likely to have any wheat added.  Lea and Perrins Worcestershire sauce is gluten-free in the US, but not in all countries.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I believe I saw once that the brand Amy's makes one. I'd check them out.

Amys doesn't make one, but Annies does, and it contains wheat.  Just to save you the searching.

 

I am in the US and use Lea and Perrins.


I am my husband's "Silly Yak Girl" :)

I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in January 2013. I also have Lupus and Common Variable Immunodeficiency(CVID) for which I am on IVIG.

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

There is a gluten free brand called The Wizard Organic gluten-free/CF Vegan Worchestershire. Buy it here. I'm disappointed it has soy, so I will have to make my own. I'm looking at a few different recipes online, now. Found them when searching for gluten free worchestershire sauce. That's also how I found this site.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Hi All, I'm new to this and very confused! I have Lea & Perrins WC sauce, it lists it's first ingredient as Malt Vinegar.  I have the Coeliac Society of Ireland Food List 2015 here, and it says "All Vinegars are Gluten Free including Malt Vinegar." Doesn't that mean that L&P Worcestershire sauce is safe?  

Their website states

" Lea & Perrins® Worcestershire Sauce is cholesterol free, fat free, preservative free, gluten free and has 80% less sodium than soy sauce. "

I'm cooking for my coeliac niece, can't afford to make a mistake!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I know that Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce  in the US is gluten free, I also know that in Canada it is NOT. This is a very reliable site:

http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vinegar/

But it is in the US.

I'm agast that the Irish Celiac Society says malt vinegar is gluten free. 

I wouldn't use it. No sense taking any chance at all.


Gluten free Dec. 2011
Dermatitis Herpetiformis

Reynaud's October 2018

Rheumatoid Arthritis October 2018

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter