Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Lilchef

I'm New To This

Recommended Posts

Hi,

I was just told (well christmas eve) that I have celiac. I really like quaker oat rice cakes and don't know if they'll make me sick... has anyone had them and not felt sick?

~thanks

Laura

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Unless you have a problem with an ingredient in the quacker oat rice cakes, you should be ok. Rice cakes are what you would want. Read the ingredients and check labels on everything.


Lisa

Mom of four boys

Nana to three granddaughters

Diagnosed with Celiac January 2006 after positive biopsy and follow up with positive blood tests

Diagnosed Chronic Fatigue Syndrome March 2006 after ruling out so many other things

Vitamin B12 deficiency October 2006

Oldest son diagnosed Celiac June 2006 also diagnosed type one diabetic November 2002

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome!

Here is a link to a thread about a year and a half ago. I'm not sure if anything's changed, but I know their oatmeal should be avoided. I'm sure they still make their rice cakes in a facility that makes wheat products, so I'd avoid them if I were you.

http://www.glutenfreeforum.com/lofiversion...php/t18141.html


Laura

Diagnosed with Hypothyroidism 1992

Diagnosed Adult ADD and Panic Disorder 2005

Diagnosed Gluten Intolerant 2006

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Something that might help is this link http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

It is a list of companies that will clearly list any gluten (wheat, rye, barley, malt, oats). If you don't see it listed on labels of products made by these companies, then it does not contain gluten in the ingredients.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest j_mommy

When I last contacted quacker they wouldn't confirm they are gluten-free...by teh ingredients they are but they are made in teh same facility as wheat products. I eat products that are made in the same facility...if they bother me I won't eat the again.

However since you are new to the diet....I would get your body all straightened out...eat things you know are for sure gluten-free and then start adding things like that...so if you have a reaction of some kind you'll know versus now where things are up in teh air.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Unless you have a problem with an ingredient in the quacker oat rice cakes, you should be ok. Rice cakes are what you would want. Read the ingredients and check labels on everything.

Thank you all. that really helps!

~Laura

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sometimes oats can have a little wheat, if they're packaged and whatnot. they do stuff like that.

since you've just started having celiac, i'd suggest you stick to things without ANYTHING AT ALL.

pretty much stick to meat, vegetables, nuts, stuff like that and things like rice cakes and other things that don't have any things you could possibly be allergic to. :( then, after all the wheat gets out of your system, you should start trying stuff a little bit at a time. maybe oats one week, then something else another week. it works best that way. track your reactions and stuffs

and also look into other things you might be allergic too. for example, i'm not only allergic to wheat, i also can't have any milk products. i also tend to stay away from egg and soy, though they don't really have as much of a negative effect on me as milk or wheat.

oh yes, i'd contact the companies of the food you eat to make sure they're free of wheat. sometimes there's contamination. you wouldn't believe some of the things that are contaminated!


*All day...starin' at the ceiling makin' friends with shadows on my wall...*

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
sometimes oats can have a little wheat, if they're packaged and whatnot. they do stuff like that.

since you've just started having celiac, i'd suggest you stick to things without ANYTHING AT ALL.

pretty much stick to meat, vegetables, nuts, stuff like that and things like rice cakes and other things that don't have any things you could possibly be allergic to. :( then, after all the wheat gets out of your system, you should start trying stuff a little bit at a time. maybe oats one week, then something else another week. it works best that way. track your reactions and stuffs

and also look into other things you might be allergic too. for example, i'm not only allergic to wheat, i also can't have any milk products. i also tend to stay away from egg and soy, though they don't really have as much of a negative effect on me as milk or wheat.

oh yes, i'd contact the companies of the food you eat to make sure they're free of wheat. sometimes there's contamination. you wouldn't believe some of the things that are contaminated!

Than k you,

Thats a good idea, i really hope i'm not allergic to anything else...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

WElcome to the forum! Well... I love the Quaker rice cakes too, but usally if there's a chance of CC, I end up getting it. So, yeah, like Stargirl said, I'd stick with the things that I KNOW are gluten-free for a couple months. Luckily, there are lots of subsitutes that taste pretty good. It is a journey of trial and error, so expect stumbling blocks. But back to the rice cakes.... There are other brands of Rice cakes that taste just as good, if not better. *huggles brown rice cakes* I like brown rice...


I live behind an eternal mask

Glued there, to my face,

All it shows is happiness,

All it shows is fake.

-Light

Please leave your sanity in the sanity box by the door. There is no sanity allowed in this room...

THE CAREBEARS WILL JOIN WITH THE BOOHBAHS AND TELETUBBIES AND TAKE OVER THE UNIVERSE WITH MACHINE GUNS AND BRAINWASHED CHILDREN!!!!!! DUCK AND COVER!!!!

If you believe that the media is trying to brainwash our children with pointless television copy and paste this into your siggy with your name attatched. : Daughter_of_TheLight

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have been just fine with the Quaker Rice Cakes. They're pretty much the only thing that I sure about. I've been using them in place of bread too. Haven't been able to find a tasty gluten-free bread yet. The rice cakes should be fine though.


symptoms-october 5th, 2007

negative endoscopy and colonoscopy-december 2007

positive bloodwork-january 2008

diagnosed celiac-january 8, 2008

"At the end of the day, the fact that we're still here is reason enough to celebrate."

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi,

My name is Anna Louise, 12, and I just figured out that I have celiac. (Not tested YET; mom has it, i have all symptoms) Does anyone know of any gluten free PIZZA?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Hi,

I was just told (well christmas eve) that I have celiac. I really like quaker oat rice cakes and don't know if they'll make me sick... has anyone had them and not felt sick?

~thanks

Laura

try lundberg rice cakes, not that expensive at all, and taste great!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites