This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Tapioca Starch

judym

judym Newbie

I'm new to gluten-free baking. I'm finding that my cakes (I've only made yellow cake, to be used as a layer cake, so far) have a distinctive flavor (I've made one specifically gluten-free recipe and one regular cake recipe using gluten free flours). I've used the same combination of flours in both cakes (Bette Hagman's gluten-free blend). When I tasted the flours straight out of their packages, I noticed that the tapioca flour was the culprit. Has anyone else noticed this and been put off by the flavor? Does anyone know of any decent substitutions for the tapioca that would add the same (non-flavor) benefits that tapioca starch adds to baked goods? Thank you so much in advance!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Guhlia Rising Star

What flours are in the Bette Hagman blend? I haven't found tapioca starch to taste funny, but I do really hate the taste of sorghum, soy, garfava and other bean flours. Brown rice flour also sometimes tastes funny to me, but not as much as the others. I imagine if its the tapioca starch that tastes funny to you, you could probably just use potato starch instead.

JennyC Enthusiast

I have never thought tapioca starch tastes funny, but cornstarch would be a good replacement. I think soy and garbanzo bean flours taste horrible.

hayley3 Contributor

I didn't think the tapioca had any flavor at all. Tapioca is what gives Chebe bread such great flavor.