This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Unexplained Episode

CycleFitness

CycleFitness Rookie

I've been gluten free for over two months. I did it in response to a recommendation from a chiropractor who suggested I had all the symptoms; painful bloating all the time, very bad gas and belching, severe joint pain, etc. The elimination of gluten from my diet yielded immediate relief from the gas and bloating. I felt completely in control over my GI issues that previously I had discounted as "just the way it is."

The last two days, though, have been very disconcerting. I started work on a new contract. I am a systems analyst and work at the computer. It was not stressful at all. The environment is very friendly and low-key. I was completely comfortable in the situation. I took a left-over turkey burger with me, which had gluten free bread crumbs and cabbage (great recipe). I ate that around 11:00. Then I went out for lunch at 1:00 and had a spinach salad at a restaurant. It had such a wonderful dressing that I didn't even bother to inquire of its contents. By 3:00 I had searing pain in my lower intestine and it was hard as a rock. I got a pounding headache and fatique by 4:00. I went home, took a nap, had soup for dinner, and went to bed. When I woke yesterday I felt a little better. No pain in abdomen and a normal BM (I have one at the same time every morning, so no problem there). I ate normally for breakfast, walked 3.5 miles at lunch, then ate at my desk a homemade chicken salad (with soy mayo) and half of an apple I had brought from home. By 2:00 I was again in searing pain. I kept having to get up from my