Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I have been very careful on my new diet, but I am wondering why so many things that are supposedly "foods to avoid" are gluten free.

Example: Salad dressing,,,,, Wishbone says their "French Dressing" is gluten free so I have been using it for a month and sure enough I am fine with it.

My wife just read me the riot act because I had "teryiaki sauce",,,,,, I read the ingrediants and how it is made and I am feeling just fine after five hours. See the ingredients below.

Has anyone else ventured into salad dressings and teryiaki sauce with the same results?

Thanks,

Joe

naturally brewed soy sauce that

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy sauce has wheat in it, which is probably why your wife freaked about the teriyaki sauce. You can make your own teriyaki sauce, (which I happen to like more) using Tamari- the gluten-free soy version of soy sauce. I don't much care for the taste of soy sauce, I use it only to cook with. My husband uses it on rice and different things, and he says the tamari is almost identical in taste to regular soy sauce.

As far as dressings, I have my fave and it's gluten-free right now. That doesn't mean they won't one day change suppliers, but for now, I'm safe on that. Many places will send you a run down of their gluten-free or gluten containing items if you ask. You may not have a reaction right now because either it's a small amount or you have healed enough that you may not have an immediate reaction. Sometimes it takes a day or two, so don't think you're out yet. Either way, regular soy sauce has gluten in it, and you should stay away from it. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have been very careful on my new diet, but I am wondering why so many things that are supposedly "foods to avoid" are gluten free.

Example: Salad dressing,,,,, Wishbone says their "French Dressing" is gluten free so I have been using it for a month and sure enough I am fine with it.

My wife just read me the riot act because I had "teryiaki sauce",,,,,, I read the ingrediants and how it is made and I am feeling just fine after five hours. See the ingredients below.

Has anyone else ventured into salad dressings and teryiaki sauce with the same results?

Thanks,

Joe

naturally brewed soy sauce that

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Be careful with Tamari.

Tamari by definition is supposed to be wheat free but most is not.

I looked on Amazon and they listed Tamari under wheat/gluten free but when it showed up it listed wheat as the third ingredient. Even at the grocery store there was Tamari in the gluten free section but listed wheat.

I ordered this:

http://www.organickingdom.com/-p-840.html

Its great soy sauce. Went and had my last sushi meal 2 days ago with it(going low carb) and it was fantastic stuff. The staff at the restaurant had a ton of questions too about it. They even offered to make me my seaweed salad with my own soy instead of theirs so I didn't have to forgo it.

FYI the company was painfully slow to ship, almost 2 weeks to get it, but worth it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Be careful with Tamari.

Tamari by definition is supposed to be wheat free but most is not.

I looked on Amazon and they listed Tamari under wheat/gluten free but when it showed up it listed wheat as the third ingredient. Even at the grocery store there was Tamari in the gluten free section but listed wheat.

I ordered this:

http://www.organickingdom.com/-p-840.html

Its great soy sauce. Went and had my last sushi meal 2 days ago with it(going low carb) and it was fantastic stuff. The staff at the restaurant had a ton of questions too about it. They even offered to make me my seaweed salad with my own soy instead of theirs so I didn't have to forgo it.

FYI the company was painfully slow to ship, almost 2 weeks to get it, but worth it.

San-J has a "wheat free" Tamari, as well as the regular.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Your lucky if you didn't have a reaction to something containing soy sauce. Almost all commercial soy sauce contains wheat and the wheat has to be listed on the labels for the soy sauce but when its used as an ingredient in another sauce, the labeling is questionable.

You can get the San-J wheat free soy sauce and work with it to make your own teriyaki sauce. It's a lot safer.

Ken

I have been very careful on my new diet, but I am wondering why so many things that are supposedly "foods to avoid" are gluten free.

Example: Salad dressing,,,,, Wishbone says their "French Dressing" is gluten free so I have been using it for a month and sure enough I am fine with it.

My wife just read me the riot act because I had "teryiaki sauce",,,,,, I read the ingrediants and how it is made and I am feeling just fine after five hours. See the ingredients below.

Has anyone else ventured into salad dressings and teryiaki sauce with the same results?

Thanks,

Joe

naturally brewed soy sauce that

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Once again, for those in the U.S., wheat MUST be listed. No question. My experience was that even before the allergen law, wheat was ALWAYS listed in soy sauce if it was there.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It could be that many of the products here in Hawaii are old but there are dozens on the shelves that list soy sauce as an ingredient but not what it's made from. The allergen list may only say soy from the soy sauce but I would bet that it's because they don't know better and there is no enforcement here.

Are there specific rules or percentages that govern what has to be listed when, for example, soy sauce might be only a minor component of a specific product like 1 to 5% of the volume?

Ken

Once again, for those in the U.S., wheat MUST be listed. No question. My experience was that even before the allergen law, wheat was ALWAYS listed in soy sauce if it was there.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My understanding is that the eight major allergens (wheat is one of them) must be disclosed regardless of how small the quantity. That is law (not regulation) in the US, applying to all FDA regulated foods produced on or after January 1, 2006. It is unlikely that any foods made before 2006 are still on the store shelves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Peter

I understand it's law and that allergens must be listed but I can't help thinking there are loopholes.

If I can get to the grocery tomorrow I'll look for specific products. I know many here list soy sauce way down the list as an ingredient but wheat is not listed. I don't have the faith that it means the product is gluten-free when Soy sauce is listed and wheat isn't.

I will also say there are a number of items on shelves here made before 2006. It's fairly common in remote parts of Hawaii.

Take care

ken

My understanding is that the eight major allergens (wheat is one of them) must be disclosed regardless of how small the quantity. That is law (not regulation) in the US, applying to all FDA regulated foods produced on or after January 1, 2006. It is unlikely that any foods made before 2006 are still on the store shelves.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

VH brand soy sauce is gluten free, they also have medium garlic sauce (marinade) and a teriaki sauce that is gluten free. I buy it at major grocery stores - IGA, superstore... I am in Canada , dont know if that brand is available everywhere.

Sandy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Hawaii some of the food might not come from mainland US and might not be labeled.

We shop in a lot of Indian and Japanese grocery stores and most of their food is not labeled at all since its straight from India/Japan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You right that much of what we get here is from other countries but it usually has an English label although that label does not always carry the allergens. Wish we had an Indian store or restaurant on this island! I have to order my spices from Jodaphur!

Soy sauce as a stand alone product even when it comes from Japan or China always has the English labels glued over the manufacturers label and these always list the contents.

When soy sauce is used in teriyaki or ponzu or even in some BBQ sauces, it's only listed as an ingredient and seldom has wheat listed with the allergens. When products are bottled in the US and modified food starch is added, It's supposed to be corn. What happens when the whole mix is shipped in 55 gallon drums to a bottler here? The source is unknown and the labels to me are questionable. I just cant bring myself to take a chance on something thats not known. Maybe if the existing laws were enforced as to content and labels things might be better. They are not going after small companies who may only produce 30,000 bottles of something a year when they can look at the big companies 30 million bottles.

Ken

In Hawaii some of the food might not come from mainland US and might not be labeled.

We shop in a lot of Indian and Japanese grocery stores and most of their food is not labeled at all since its straight from India/Japan.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You have to buy the "wheat free Tamari". Says on the front of the label.

I, too, make my own teriyaki because i have not yet found one that is gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
You have to buy the "wheat free Tamari". Says on the front of the label.

I, too, make my own teriyaki because i have not yet found one that is gluten free.

La Choy Soy Sauce and Teriyaki are both gluten free, not the best, but gluten free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Unfortunately I do not think many companies understand the law the way you and I do. I've run into products that list soy sauce as an ingredient in a product without then listing the ingredients of the soy sauce. And the products did not have an allergen warning on them for soy or wheat. And yes the soy sauce in question was made with wheat.

Once again, for those in the U.S., wheat MUST be listed. No question. My experience was that even before the allergen law, wheat was ALWAYS listed in soy sauce if it was there.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for saying what I was trying too http://www.glutenfreeforum.com/style_emoti...lt/rolleyes.gif

Ken

Unfortunately I do not think many companies understand the law the way you and I do. I've run into products that list soy sauce as an ingredient in a product without then listing the ingredients of the soy sauce. And the products did not have an allergen warning on them for soy or wheat. And yes the soy sauce in question was made with wheat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Top Posters +

  • Upcoming Events

    • March 24, 2019 Until March 27, 2019
      0  
      NEW ORLEANS GOURMET GLUTEN-FREE mini GETAWAY    March 24 ~ 27, 2019   We have arranged a fun and Gluten-free food filled mini in the city known for it's food and fun.  We have arranged to eat many of the famous dishes that aren't usually Gluten-free at a few of the World Renown restaurants.   Staying at the Royal Sonesta Hotel on Bourbon Street in the center of the French Quarter, you'll be able to enjoy the ambiance of the city at all hours.   Our itinerary will include a Luxury Coach tour of the city and surrounding area - Admission to The National World War II Museum, including the Tom Hanks" 4D film "Beyond All Boundaries" - an exciting Airboat ride and tour through the Bayou.      This it the 3rd time we have visited New Orleans and it has always been well attended, so join us even if you've been there before.  Check out our website for the complete itinerary and cost.    Due to contractual obligations we must have 20 participants by October 31, 2018 to make this a go.      If you have any questions just give us a call at 410-939-3218.  Bob & Ruth info@bobandruths.com (410) 939-3218
    • March 27, 2019 04:00 PM Until 08:00 AM
      0  
       
       
       
      Celiac Emotional Healing Support Group
       
       
       
      Again you are invited to join Johnny Patout, LCSW for Baton Rouge's first emotional healing support group meeting to assist those living with celiac disease manage the emotional challenges so many of us face. Most often the emotional disturbances include depression, disinterest in normal activities, insomnia, grief, mood changes, anxiety, inability to concentrate, extreme concern about managing a gluten-free lifestyle and other emotional and behavioral challenges.
       
      The professionals at Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center created the emotional healing support group to give us a safe place to begin to process our emotions and support each other as we heal emotionally while managing celiac disease and the resulting autoimmune disorders.
       
      The emotional healing support group meets every Thursday, 6:00-7:00pm, at the Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center of Baton Rouge. Jamestown Avenue Counseling Center is located at 4637 Jamestown Avenue, Baton Rouge, Suite B-1. Suite B-1 is upstairs.
       
      The support group is free and open everyone managing celiac disease. For more information: emotionalhealingforceliacs@hotmail.com
    • March 30, 2019 Until March 31, 2019
      0  
      Nourished Festival is a family-friendly event with 10 locations across the US. Attendees will be able to sample food, health and beauty products, meet with companies, learn about the most current food lifestyles, receive coupons and attend educational sessions with industry experts. 
      Nourished Festival, managed by The Nourished Group and presented by Enjoy Life Foods, is the largest gluten-free, allergy-friendly and specialty diet event in the US, with 10 locations including.
      ABOUT THE NOURISHED FESTIVALS
      Managed by The Nourished Group, formerly The Gluten Free Media Group, The Nourished Festivals are the largest and fastest growing special diet consumer events in the United States. Started in 2007, the events have expanded from one to ten cities throughout the country. The festivals cater to anyone looking to lead a healthier lifestyle or those who follow a specialty diet due to autoimmune conditions, food sensitivities, allergies or intolerances. Offerings including Paleo, Keto, Plant-Based, Gluten-Free, Allergen-Friendly and Nut-Free products. The events provide the opportunity for attendees to sample and purchase new products, receive coupons, meet with brand ambassadors and attend educational classes with industry experts. For more information, visit http://www.nourishedfestival.com 
       
  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      86,787
    • Most Online
      4,125

    Newest Member
    OrangesAndMelons
    Joined
  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      112,058
    • Total Posts
      956,630
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Forum Discussions

    I recently started a medication that's known to cause hypothyroidism, and in me, it has. As I increased the dose, my TSH went higher, in an almost lockstep fashion. On the most recent set of blood tests, after my TSH had gone over the threshold, my GP decided to chuck a coeliac test in there since hypothyroidism can be linked to coeliac disease, even though it seems pretty much certain the hypothyroidism is caused by the medication. So essentially this test result was something neither he n
    TDZ, that is interesting that you mention weed-eating as coinciding with the start of your husband's rash, as about 12 years ago I had a possibly similar experience.  It was in the spring (meaning late May here in SC Alaska), and I was cutting the lawn.  Rather than bagging up all the lawn clippings, I would just take the filled bag off the mower, walk into the woods behind the house, and pull out the clippings with my hand and then scatter them around (so that they didn't just all rot and feste
Not a clue, other than normal eating. He ate a fair amount of bread, and pasta and pizza and such. Right before the massive outbreak in November, there was a peppermint/chocolate-drizzled popcorn that I got at Walmart, and it gave both of us horrible diarrhea, and within a few days he was covered with more rash than ever before. Might have been unrelated, but it's the only unusual thing that times out right for any causality. Otherwise, he wasn't eating anything different. The first thing t
  • Blog Entries

  • ×
    ×
    • Create New...