• Join Our Community!

Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

mushroom

Hives From Sublingual B12?

Rate this topic

I didn't know where else to put this so put it here. After reading the forum it seemed like a good idea to take a B12 supplement. I took a well-recognized brand of sublingual B12 that appeared to be gluten free though did not state that on the label. I purchased it from the herb centre where my naturopath practises. I added nothing else to my diet--in fact these days I am subtracting rather than adding things to my diet. :P

The next day I had broken out in hives all over my face and eyelids, something I have never done before, from anything. Well, all right, I did have some hives on my body, here and there, before going gluten free, and some general rashy itchiness, but never anything on my face. Three days later they are starting to subside, itchiness is gone. I was just wondering if anyone else has had this effect from B12? Needless to say, I haven't taken any more.

I can't say for sure, yet am pretty positive it's not from the B12, but probably from a filler in the actual vitamin. Never take a vitamin without knowing it's gluten status. Just because it looks safe, does not mean it is. Most of the good vitamin companies will now state if they are gluten free and it is worth asking--a vitamin is something you take everyday and it is very important that it be safe. I get my B12 from Lame Advertisement.com--they have Jarrow, Biochem made by Country Life, and their own brand which all state the gluten-free status. Nature Made is another good brand, some CVS products state it--just always check, if it doesn't state gluten-free, then don't buy it.