This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Low Carb And Gluten Free Chocolate Desert

wildkat

wildkat Rookie

I am stuck. My husband has to do the low carb, sugar free diet because of diabetes in is family and he gains weight just by looking at food. And I have to do gluten free in order to keep my weight on and my skin clear from the horrible rash from gluten. Any ideas for a valentines day desert? Especially one that is chocolate. I am a scratch baker and only know of chocolate cheese cake for both of us. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I value this site more than any other on the internet. I know I can trust all of you "kids". Thank you in advance.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

RiceGuy Collaborator

The first thing that comes to mind is chocolate pudding. I'm thinking, that you could use plain unsweetened cocoa powder, pure Stevia powder, and guar gum. I've done this with carob, and the guar gum does give a very smooth pudding consistency. I used water for the liquid, but I suppose rice/nut/soy milk could work too. Stevia is zero carb, zero calories, and zero on the glycemic index.

I mixed the dry powders together, then added the water and stirred until it thickened. This does not require any heating, so it's quick to make too. Guar gum is a soluble fiber, so I'd have to think that suits the low carb requirement. One important thing to note about soluble fiber though, is that it tends to slow the passage of food through the intestines - opposite of insoluble fiber often used in laxatives. So not everyone will do well with it.