Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

wowzer

Yoplait Yogurt Whips

Recommended Posts

I wrote Yoplait asking if the Whips are gluten free. They didn't answer that question. This is the reply that I received from them:

All headers

Dear Ms. Martin:

Thank you for contacting Yoplait regarding gluten in Yoplait yogurt.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product's ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or:

Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America, Inc.

PO Box 31700

Omaha, NE 68131-0700

402-558-0600

Or toll free: 877-CSA-4-CSA (877-272-4272)

www.csaceliacs.org

All Yoplait Original, Light, and Thick & Creamy yogurts are gluten free at this time, but we encourage consumers to continue checking the label for any sources of gluten if the product is not marked GLUTEN FREE.

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Amy Sadowski

Consumer Services

>Original Message From: wmartin2501@wowway.com

>

>Originated by Consumer I've noticed that some of the Yoplait yogurt that I have purchased in the last few month states GLUTEN FREE on the label. I had been led to believe that all Yoplait yogurt was gluten free unless it contained cookies. Are the Whips gluten free? :

2/160

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Actually this is exactly what you want to hear. Yoplait lists any gluten in their ingredients, so all you have to do is read. No lists to carry around or to become outdated.


Jenny

Son 6 yrs old, Positive blood work, Outstanding dietary response, no biopsy.

Household mostly gluten free since 3/07

Me: HLA-DQ 02 & 0302 (DQ 08), which I ran & analyzed myself!Currently gluten lite, negative tTG, asymptomatic

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

They actually answered more than your question. You asked about a specific product...the letter is for ALL their products ...and they say they will list any ingredient or flavoring clearly so that if some flavour is wheat based - it will be clearly labeled etc.

Companies put the onus back on the consumer to read all labels. Yoplait is saying - read the label - if no gluten is listed then it isnt there (hidden or otherwise).

Sandy


Sandy

Type 1 diabetes - 1986

hypothyroid -1993

pernicious anemia

premature atrial beats

neuropathy

retinopathy

daughter is: age 15

central hypotonia and developmental delay

balance issues (rides an adult 3 wheel bike)

hypothyroid 1996

dermatographia - a form of angioedema 2002

celiac 2004 - by endoscopy

diagnosed Aspergers at age 7 - responded very well (HUGE difference) to gluten-free diet

recovered from Kawasaki (2003)

lactose intolerant - figured out in Oct/06

Gilberts syndrome (April/07)

allergy to stinging insects

scoliosis Jan 2008

nightshade intolerance - figured out April 2008

allergy to Sulfa antibiotics

son is 13

type 1 diabetic - 2003 diagnosed on his 9th birthday

celiac - 2004 by endoscopy

lactose intolerant - figured out Nov/06

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Actually this is exactly what you want to hear. Yoplait lists any gluten in their ingredients, so all you have to do is read. No lists to carry around or to become outdated.

To update this information with what I just learned. I spoke to a woman at the 800-967-5248 which is the number listed on either the Yoplait light or the whips. Anyway, she indicated to me that if the yogurt is Gluten Free it will be listed on the back. If not then it is not. She was very blunt about it and less then excited to help me.

Nancy


We live to eat, not eat to live, so eat dessert first!

Nancy K.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

To update this information with what I just learned. I spoke to a woman at the 800-967-5248 which is the number listed on either the Yoplait light or the whips. Anyway, she indicated to me that if the yogurt is Gluten Free it will be listed on the back. If not then it is not. She was very blunt about it and less then excited to help me.

Nancy

I just called Yoplait. In a world of law suits everyone is covering their behinds.

When a container is listed as gluten free, they are confident there is no change of cross contamination.

But most companies will not list something as gluten free unless it is tested, regardless of no gluten ingredients.

Yoplait ( a General Mills Company) will always list ALL forms of gluten in their ingredient listing. So all you need do is read the ingredient list and if you do not see wheat, rye, barley or malt, it is safe to consume.

It's always good to call the company, but remember that your information is only as good as you customer service rep. Rely on your instincts.


Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I think Yoplait may be taking the "Gluten free" statement off their labeling. I haven't contacted the company yet, but I was at the local grocery store and saw that the Yoplait yogurt there said "gluten free." I didn't need any yogurt then, so I waited and was going to get some when I went to Walmart a week later. I just happened to read the labels again, and none of them (they were slightly more recently packaged) said "gluten free." I know Great Value is changing all of their labeling, so maybe Yoplait is following suit. I didn't notice any new, gluten-containing ingredients listed though.


Had severe health problems for 5 years; previous diagnoses are asthma, mitral valve prolapse, migraines, lactose intolerance, foot drop, fibro, chronic fatigue, suspected neurocardiogenic syncope and ehlers danlos syndrome, and now suspected celiac.

Been gluten free for 3 weeks now, and feeling much better. Able to exercise for the first time in 2 years, much more energy, and much less pain...starting to feel 40 instead of 80 (I'm 23). I'm excited for what the future will bring.

"In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world."--John 16:33

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter