Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

pixiegirl

Progresso Traditional N.e. Clam Chowder

Recommended Posts

I read other posts about this specific Progresso Chowder and some of them said the thick and hearty is gluten-free but Traditional is not.

Others said Progresso labels what allergens are in it and on the Traditional Clam Chowder it lists only clam, milk, soy, lobster, shrimp, crab, tuna, cod, and fish ingredients.

So can I assume its gluten-free?

Others also said that Progresso is a Betty Crocker product but it says General Mills on the label (they may or may not own Betty Crocker I don't know).

Nothing sounds like wheat but there are a few chemical ingredients in it like: disodium guanylate, disodium inosinate... sounds awful but I have a huge yen for Clam Chowder and I don't have the ingredients to make t from scratch.

Thanks for any help... answer soon... I'm hungry!

Susan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They are a good company for labeling. Just be sure to read the label every time. The split pea used to be gluten free but they changed it and it got me cause I was so used to eating it I didn't look. The ingredients still looked safe but they had added a contains wheat warning. Although I was unhappy with the change at least they labeled it clearly.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Progresso and Betty Crocker are both GM products. http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/index.htm

At one point, a couple of years ago, when I was looking for a clam chowder, the thick and hearty was gluten-free and the traditional clearly had wheat listed (not hidden).

Its apparently changed and many have said that both are now gluten-free!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I read other posts about this specific Progresso Chowder and some of them said the thick and hearty is gluten-free but Traditional is not.

Others said Progresso labels what allergens are in it and on the Traditional Clam Chowder it lists only clam, milk, soy, lobster, shrimp, crab, tuna, cod, and fish ingredients.

So can I assume its gluten-free?

Others also said that Progresso is a Betty Crocker product but it says General Mills on the label (they may or may not own Betty Crocker I don't know).

Nothing sounds like wheat but there are a few chemical ingredients in it like: disodium guanylate, disodium inosinate... sounds awful but I have a huge yen for Clam Chowder and I don't have the ingredients to make t from scratch.

Thanks for any help... answer soon... I'm hungry!

Susan

I just bought the BEST clam chow dah ever !!!! I also live in Massachusetts so hopefully you live by or can access the store where I purchased it. IT WAS PRETTY EXPENSIVE but well worth it....it was microwavable...I will try to get the name when I return to the store...If I forget to come back here soon...you can email me at docklearfan@yahoo.com in the subject title if you write my name JAY I wont delete it...lol

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All progresso soups clearly list Allergens. I only eat Progresso, and Healthy Choice soups. Both list Wheat clearly. The new Progresso Clam Chowder (the one that list Lobster) is killer! Best chowder I ever ate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...