Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


0
stolly

Carnation Instant Breakfast?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

My daughter likes Carnation Instant Breakfast in her milk (Rich Milk Chocolate flavor). We started it for calorie boosting, and now she doesn't like milk without it. Is CIB gluten free? I'm trying to check the label and just feeling overwhelmed with all of this right now, so I thought I'd ask in case anyone happens to know. Thank you!

ps--I will continue to work on my label reading skills :)


Holly

DD5: juveline rheumatoid arthritis 8/07; celiac 3/08

DS3: negative blood tests

Me and DH: negative blood tests

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Carnation is part of Nestle. Nestle is a celiac friendly company . . . they do not hide gluten in vague terms like "natural flavor". So if you don't see the words wheat, rye, barley or oats on the label then it is OK.

Here is a list of a lot of companies that practice this same policy

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten


Janet

Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted.

animal0028.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

As Janet said, it is a Nestle product. Read the label, looking for any gluten grains. If they are not listed, they are not there. :)


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Thank you! It was the natural and artificial flavors that was throwing me off. I am so excited when I can confirm things we can keep the same for my daughter. She loves her milk with CIB (although hopefully she won't have a problem with the milk).


Holly

DD5: juveline rheumatoid arthritis 8/07; celiac 3/08

DS3: negative blood tests

Me and DH: negative blood tests

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

I do not see anything on the ingredients list that indicate gluten and I know that they used to be gluten free.

That changed several years ago. If you go to the FAQs they state that powdered Carnation Instant Breakfast Essentials IS NOT gluten free. The powdered Light does not contain gluten ingredients but is made on equipment that processes food with wheat. The premade liquid (both essentials and light) ARE gluten free.

Its a bummer. Used to love this stuff as quick meal replacement.

B

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

0


Join eNewsletter