Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Annaem

Gluten Free And Spelt

Recommended Posts


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


It's not gluten-free and not safe for celiacs. However if you have a gluten allergy, you might be able to eat it. My daughter can not. I do know of a few people with gluten allergies who say spelt doesn't make them sick. But it doubles my daughter over in pain.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Spelt is an ancient form of wheat. It can sometimes be tolerated by people with a wheat allergy, but it is not safe for those on a gluten free diet because the molecular structure is too similar. It is often marketed as "wheat free", but it is not gluten free.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spelt

Spelt (Triticum spelta) is a hexaploid species of wheat. Spelt was an important staple in parts of Europe from the Bronze Age to medieval times; it now survives as a relict crop in Central Europe and has found a new market as a health food. Spelt is sometimes considered a subspecies of the closely related species common wheat (T. aestivum), in which case its botanical name is considered to be Triticum aestivum subsp. spelta.

Spelt is closely related to common wheat, and is not suitable for people with celiac disease. It is possible that spelt is suitable for people with a wheat allergy


-Colleen

Dx 8/05 via bloodwork and biopsy (total villous atrophy)

13-year old son Dx 11/05 via bloodwork and biopsy

Daughters (16 and 5) have tested negative via bloodwork

A woman is like a tea bag - you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water. - Eleanor Roosevelt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter