Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

shelland

Can You Have Wheat Allergy And Not Have Celiac Disease?

Recommended Posts

i have coeliac but i can have wheat as long as the gluten has been removed, and it can work the other way, it is possible to be allergic to wheat but not have a gluten intolerance/allergy

also it is possible to have a gluten intolerance and not have coeliac

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
i have coeliac but i can have wheat as long as the gluten has been removed, and it can work the other way, it is possible to be allergic to wheat but not have a gluten intolerance/allergy

also it is possible to have a gluten intolerance and not have coeliac

Very interesting- I've never heard of gluten-free wheat products. I'll do some looking around. In the meanwhile, can you suggest a wheat product that you like where the gluten has been removed? I'd like to try it. Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Very interesting- I've never heard of gluten-free wheat products. I'll do some looking around. In the meanwhile, can you suggest a wheat product that you like where the gluten has been removed? I'd like to try it. Thanks!

In Europe they have wheat starch which supposedly contains only trace amounts of gluten and is declared safe for celiac by them. But a lot of people with celiac disease react to it anyway, and I don't consider it safe at all. I personally wouldn't eat it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Very interesting- I've never heard of gluten-free wheat products. I'll do some looking around. In the meanwhile, can you suggest a wheat product that you like where the gluten has been removed? I'd like to try it. Thanks!

First of all, I'm not advocating use of this product. Pacific Natural Foods has this statement on their website about a beef flavored gravy that is listed as gluten-free but not as wheat-free: "This product is Gluten Free (By definition this means less than 10 ppm gluten. The wheat fiber ingredient has no protein and is supplier verified.)"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
In Europe they have wheat starch which supposedly contains only trace amounts of gluten and is declared safe for celiac by them. But a lot of people with celiac disease react to it anyway, and I don't consider it safe at all. I personally wouldn't eat it.

i myself cant tolerate said wheat startch, but on persription we can get weat products that contain no gluten at all.. i think juvela is probably the best for that.. if you google it then you can become a member

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A Wheat allergy is different from Celiac. You see an allergy is IgE mediated where Celiac is not. I was told I have both but I just had a recent blood test done and I showed not allergic to it but I still have celiac.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...