Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

gfgeo

Caravella Limoncello

Recommended Posts

Has anyone else ever felt a reaction to Caravella Limoncello? I read that it was distilled from grain but haven't felt subject to the effects of grain in vodkas, so I indulged last night. (Just a few sips!) So I know I didn't get sick from overdoing it. Just wondering if anyone has had an experience. I haven't found any info online regarding its containing gluten or not, and am trying to track down the culprit. Thanks :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


i would love to know the answer to this as well. i have a bottle of this in my freezer from before my diagnosis in november and i haven't had a sip since prior to that. it is so yummy.


Joe

Dx Crohn's Disease - December, 1993

Positive Blood Test - November, 2007

Positive Biopsy - December 21, 2007

Gluten Free since December 3, 2007

Crohn's Medication stopped on January 17, 2008

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

If it's distilled and not brewed, it should be ok. I drink other distilled from barley alcohol (Shochu from Japan) with no problem.

Just don't know how Caravella Limoncello but hope to find out before I get to Italy in July!

Has anyone else ever felt a reaction to Caravella Limoncello? I read that it was distilled from grain but haven't felt subject to the effects of grain in vodkas, so I indulged last night. (Just a few sips!) So I know I didn't get sick from overdoing it. Just wondering if anyone has had an experience. I haven't found any info online regarding its containing gluten or not, and am trying to track down the culprit. Thanks :)

"Ryo tatereba mi ga tatanu"

If we try to serve both sides, we cannot stand our own ground.

Japanese proverb

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Limencello of all kinds should be gluten free. It's made of Lemon rinds, simple syrup (sugar and water) and vodka and Everclear (180 proof plain grain alcohol) The alcohol is safe for Celiacs because it is heated at a high enough temp. I make my own for fun but the type found in Italy and hear in the states is safe.

Enjoy!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

i would love to know the answer to this as well. i have a bottle of this in my freezer from before my diagnosis in november and i haven't had a sip since prior to that. it is so yummy.

I'm pretty confident that I was exposed to gluten from the limoncello...but I wouldn't describe the reaction as too terrible...I nominate myself to be a guinea pig twice...if I am still into this experiment by the weekend, I'll let you all know what happens :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

One of my stepdaughters brought me a bottle of lemoncello from Italy last year. I don't remember what brand it was, but it was quite tasty. I didn't get any unwanted reactions. I also drink sour mash bourbon whiskey and Coke with no problems.

best regards, lm


gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter