Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Moongirl

Cadbury Mini Eggs =(

Recommended Posts

I have been eating cadbury mini eggs for about week now as they have always been my fav holiday candy. But I have had the mini d this week too and it is the only thing new so no more for me :angry::(:angry:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, this whole thing makes sense to me, finally.

Since I've been gluten-free, I have never been able to tolerate most Hershey's chocolate. Prior to that, it was my favorite.

With the exception of York Peppermint Patties, Hershey's has not agreed with me--it must have been the "natural flavors" all along. I had assumed it was just me being sensitive (which I am)--but now I wonder....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just got off the phone with an extremely rude Hershey employee. He first mumbled when answering the call, and when asked to speak up since I couldn't make out anything he was saying he was just plain out and out rude with lots of tone and attitude in every word he spit across the line. Jerk.

Anyway, the loser told me that any and all allergens such as wheat must be listed on the bag, so basically to assume there's no gluten in the product if wheat is not listed.

Now after reading this thread, I realize he was giving me the run around that all you seem to be used to and know how to get through. I'm still learning about the right questions to ask. So this thread has been very helpful.

I was debating getting another bag of the mini eggs today, getting so close to Easter and all, but I suppose not. This thread confirms my fear. A month ago I ate a couple bags in the course of 2 weeks, thinking they were gluten free but noticing just a touch of reaction.

I thought the reaction was in my mind since it wasn't a full blown attack. But I can see now my symptoms very likely came from that since my typically strict diet hadn't changed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I just got off the phone with an extremely rude Hershey employee. He first mumbled when answering the call, and when asked to speak up since I couldn't make out anything he was saying he was just plain out and out rude with lots of tone and attitude in every word he spit across the line. Jerk.

Anyway, the loser told me that any and all allergens such as wheat must be listed on the bag, so basically to assume there's no gluten in the product if wheat is not listed.

Now after reading this thread, I realize he was giving me the run around that all you seem to be used to and know how to get through. I'm still learning about the right questions to ask. So this thread has been very helpful.

I was debating getting another bag of the mini eggs today, getting so close to Easter and all, but I suppose not. This thread confirms my fear. A month ago I ate a couple bags in the course of 2 weeks, thinking they were gluten free but noticing just a touch of reaction.

I thought the reaction was in my mind since it wasn't a full blown attack. But I can see now my symptoms very likely came from that since my typically strict diet hadn't changed.

Welcome Schilds to the Forum!

I am sorry that you found a rude customer relations person. I have called many companies and most are helpful and considerate. It is obvious that the personal that you spoke with is uneducated about wheat vs. gluten.

I feel that something should be clarified. Hershey has NEVER said that their product and especially Cadbury Mini Eggs contain gluten. Rather, they have stated that they CANNOT CONFIRM that they do or do not.

I have eaten quite a few of them in the past and I have never gotten sick from them and I suspect that they are gluten free. This has been my own personal experience and it may differ from person to person. But, with the current disclosure policy of Hershey, I will no longer purchase their products.

Glad that you have joined us.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have one of those bags of the Cadbury Mini Eggs. It is unopened and makes me sad, I always have looked forward to them at Easter. They even have a Christmas version too. I am sure that I got glutened from Hershey's candy at work now after reading this post. I just hope that more companies don't go for the CYA.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Welcome Schilds to the Forum!

I am sorry that you found a rude customer relations person. I have called many companies and most are helpful and considerate. It is obvious that the personal that you spoke with is uneducated about wheat vs. gluten.

I feel that something should be clarified. Hershey has NEVER said that their product and especially Cadbury Mini Eggs contain gluten. Rather, they have stated that they CANNOT CONFIRM that they do or do not.

I have eaten quite a few of them in the past and I have never gotten sick from them and I suspect that they are gluten free. This has been my own personal experience and it may differ from person to person. But, with the current disclosure policy of Hershey, I will no longer purchase their products.

Glad that you have joined us.

Thanks for the welcome! I went gluten free about 6 months ago and my life has changed so much. This is such a great resource. I've spent countless hours googling and searching different celiac forums over the past 6 months. So much to learn.

I *would* like to announce that today I found a GREAT substitute for Cadbury mini eggs, and as long as they still make this product, I will never even consider eating Cadbury. It's the Hershey's candy coated chocolate eggs. They look similar to Cadbury mini eggs, but they are just a little bigger. I think they taste GREAT! Just like mini eggs, maybe even better. And these eggs gave me NO symptoms. A happy stomach, all day long! Not even a FLUTTER of a questionable feeling. And it's been over 5 hours since I ate them. So I'm a happy girl today 'cause i loved the mini eggs. BTW, there's NO "natural flavors" listed on the Hershey's Candy-Coated eggs. None of the ingrediants on them look questionable either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thanks for the welcome! I went gluten free about 6 months ago and my life has changed so much. This is such a great resource. I've spent countless hours googling and searching different celiac forums over the past 6 months. So much to learn.

I *would* like to announce that today I found a GREAT substitute for Cadbury mini eggs, and as long as they still make this product, I will never even consider eating Cadbury. It's the Hershey's candy coated chocolate eggs. They look similar to Cadbury mini eggs, but they are just a little bigger. I think they taste GREAT! Just like mini eggs, maybe even better. And these eggs gave me NO symptoms. A happy stomach, all day long! Not even a FLUTTER of a questionable feeling. And it's been over 5 hours since I ate them. So I'm a happy girl today 'cause i loved the mini eggs. BTW, there's NO "natural flavors" listed on the Hershey's Candy-Coated eggs. None of the ingrediants on them look questionable either.

<_<<_<<_< Yeah, but it's still a Hershey product (grumble, grumble, grumble)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I *would* like to announce that today I found a GREAT substitute for Cadbury mini eggs, and as long as they still make this product, I will never even consider eating Cadbury. It's the Hershey's candy coated chocolate eggs. They look similar to Cadbury mini eggs, but they are just a little bigger. I think they taste GREAT! Just like mini eggs, maybe even better. And these eggs gave me NO symptoms. A happy stomach, all day long! Not even a FLUTTER of a questionable feeling. And it's been over 5 hours since I ate them. So I'm a happy girl today 'cause i loved the mini eggs. BTW, there's NO "natural flavors" listed on the Hershey's Candy-Coated eggs. None of the ingrediants on them look questionable either.

I had these but I wasn't as thrilled with them. I think it is the shell I have a hard time getting used to....I missed the thinner candy shell....I am stubborn.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A sad day indeed. I had a reaction, read this message board and called Hershey's. Though they wouldn't confess that anything has changed they did say that their natural flavorings are not gluten free. I asked if this was true for all of their products and they said yes. What is spring without Mini Eggs and Cream Eggs? I guess I just have to find another chocolate addiction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
As Hershey has stated - "ANY PRODUCT THAT LISTS NATURAL FLAVOR IS NOT GLUTEN FREE". The company itself will not quarantee the gluten free status of their products.

Cadbury Creme Eggs CONTAIN WHEAT as per the box they come in! As per prior years gluten-free candy lists, this product used to be gluten-free but that has changed this year! How did I find out - eating one as I read the box - "Glucose Syrup (WHEAT)". Bummer!

UPDATE - As per another member -

"Glucose, glucose syrup, caramel and similar ingredients have no detectable gluten, even if derived from wheat.

.

New food labelling laws require food labels to list all ingredients derived from wheat, rye, barley and oats.

This does not mean that all ingredients derived from these sources actually contain gluten.

So, it is a legal requirement that the source be declared, but remember that ingredients derived from wheat that are gluten free are:

dextrose, glucose and caramel colour (additive 150). "

Will see if I react tonight or night. Fingers crossed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Cadbury Creme Eggs CONTAIN WHEAT as per the box they come in! As per prior years gluten-free candy lists, this product used to be gluten-free but that has changed this year! How did I find out - eating one as I read the box - "Glucose Syrup (WHEAT)". Bummer!

http://www.coeliac.com.au/interpreting-ingredients.html

GLUCOSE, GLUCOSE SYRUP AND CARAMEL COLOUR

It is important for those following a gluten-free diet to incorporate the latest valid scientific information into their diets. Under current Australian food law, glucose, glucose syrup and caramel colour are "gluten-free", even if derived from wheat, as the wheat is so highly processed, there is no gluten detected.

Glucose, glucose syrup, caramel and similar ingredients have no detectable gluten, even if derived from wheat. New food labelling laws require food labels to list all ingredients derived from wheat, rye, barley and oats. This does not mean that all ingredients derived from these sources actually contain gluten. So, it is a legal requirement that the source be declared, but remember that ingredients derived from wheat that are gluten free are: dextrose, glucose and caramel colour (additive 150).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×
×
  • Create New...