Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recommended Posts

I recently started eating a non-gluten diet. One item ia Rice crispies. On the ingrediants it states has malt in it. Is this safe. I researched and found it is made from cereal grains. Is this just a type of sugar for flavor or is this a no no and is not recommeded to eat.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


The malt flavoring in Rice Krispies is from barley and is off limits.

Hope this helps.


-Colleen

Dx 8/05 via bloodwork and biopsy (total villous atrophy)

13-year old son Dx 11/05 via bloodwork and biopsy

Daughters (16 and 5) have tested negative via bloodwork

A woman is like a tea bag - you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water. - Eleanor Roosevelt

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Malt in the rice crispies is made from barley and that makes it unsafe for people eating gluten free, I see it used in a lot in cereals as a sweetner I am guessing....very disappointing!


~~~~Gluten Free since 9/2004~~~~~~

Friends may come and go but Sillies are Forever!!!!!!!

36_22_10[1].gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter

Yep, regular Rice Krispies are a no-go. However, Erewhon makes a gluten-free version called Crispy Brown Rice. Make sure you get the gluten-free version (they make a wheat free version that also has the malt).


Janet

Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted.

animal0028.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join eNewsletter



Join eNewsletter