Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

brian26

Gf Baking

I am new to this whole gluten-free thing, but I am not so new that I don't know that most ready-made gluten-free food leaves much to be desired. I've had much better luck baking myself, but I find a large variance in the quality of different mixes. Can anyone offer any advice as to which white bread mix, which all-purpose flour, etc. acts and tastes most like wheat flour? I've been hearing about Sylvan Border Farm's flour mix...anyone tried it? I'd appreciate anyh input....thank you!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

I generally don't do gluten-free bread but I know quite a few people (including the chefs at glutenfreeda) who swear by the Gluten Free Pantry French bread mix. The two women who run Glutenfreeda stopped trying to come up with their own mix and just started using this mix as a base and adapting it for all sorts of things, including pasta.

richard

Guest barbara3675

Yes, it is Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour Mixture. I buy it at Pick and Save where I live, but all the health food store have it and you can buy it online at his website too. It is just wonderful, you can sub it into any recipe, but you need to add some xanthun gum, about a teaspoon for every cup of flour. I used it for my Christmas baking. It works best in recipes that have more moisture. The ones that had less mositure were kind of dry. Next time I use those recipes, I am going to increase the oil or other liquid. These were cake, cookie and quick bread recipes. The two recipes on the back of the package are delightful. The banana bread is great and I have adapted that one by putting apples and raisins or blueberries in it. Using this flour is so much easier than trying to mix your own, I think.

Best of luck....Barbara