Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

glutenfreemeg

Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Flour Mix......

I'm new to all this gluten free baking and so I bought some of this and I just can't get past the strange taste. Is it the bean flours in it? I made some biscuits and they were horrible! I have some of Bette Hagman's books and I want to try some of her recipes but a lot call for garfava flour, is it going to taste like this Bob's flour? Any ideas on what I could make with this all purpose flour that would hide the nasty taste? Thanks so much!

Megan

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Many find the bean flour unappealing. I use Bob's all-purpose in gravy and white/cream/cheese sauces and you can't taste the bean flour at all. I also use it successfully in this bread recipe, combined with other flours.

http://www.glutenfreeforum.com/index.php?showtopic=28633

But I have tried it in cookies and they were terrible.

Me: GLUTEN-FREE 7/06, multiple food allergies, T2 DIABETES DX 8/08, LADA-Latent Autoimmune Diabetes in Adults, Who knew food allergies could trigger an autoimmune attack on the pancreas?! 1/11 Re-DX T1 DM, pos. DQ2 Celiac gene test 9/11

Son: ADHD '06,

neg. CELIAC PANEL 5/07

ALLERGY: "positive" blood and skin tests to wheat, which triggers his eczema '08

ENTEROLAB testing: elevated Fecal Anti-tissue Transglutaminase IgA Dec. '08

Gluten-free-Feb. '09

other food allergies

Join eNewsletter

It has taken us nearly 5 years to get used to the bean flour taste.

Shellfish free since 1980

Milk free (all forms) since 1991

Feingold in 2003

First gluten-free round 2007

Now entering full time Gluten free, egg free, almond/peanut free

Join eNewsletter