This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Bob's Red Mill All Purpose Flour Mix......

glutenfreemeg

glutenfreemeg Newbie

I'm new to all this gluten free baking and so I bought some of this and I just can't get past the strange taste. Is it the bean flours in it? I made some biscuits and they were horrible! I have some of Bette Hagman's books and I want to try some of her recipes but a lot call for garfava flour, is it going to taste like this Bob's flour? Any ideas on what I could make with this all purpose flour that would hide the nasty taste? Thanks so much!

Megan

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

missy'smom Collaborator

Many find the bean flour unappealing. I use Bob's all-purpose in gravy and white/cream/cheese sauces and you can't taste the bean flour at all. I also use it successfully in this bread recipe, combined with other flours.

Open Original Shared Link

But I have tried it in cookies and they were terrible.

Mom23boys Contributor

It has taken us nearly 5 years to get used to the bean flour taste.

cruelshoes Enthusiast

It is definitely the bean flour. I cannot stand any of Bob's breads for this reason. I can stomach the all-purpose mix when I add it to something with strong flavors to cover it up. The BRM chocolate cake mix has bean flour in it, but you can't taste it when it's masked by the chocolate. Some of us are just supertasters, I think. I am the same way with quinoa flour. Any amount in a recipe comes through loud and clear for me.

glutenfreemeg Newbie