Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

NewGFMom

Gluten Free Dining In Southern Ct

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Wish I had some names of places for you, I am coming home to the New Haven/Danbury area in June and need to find some places as well. I have seen a few names in threads here, just search under Connecticut. I believe the local support group out of New Haven (or Yale Univerity) has a restaurant guide on its website. CT is so small I am sure it must cover other counties outside of New Haven. Good luck

Join eNewsletter

Hi I live in Fairfield, can't say I know of a restaurant w/ gluten-free pasta -- although plenty of stores carry it here - Trader Joe's, Mrs. Green's (local health food store on Post Road), even Stop & Shop (one at each end of town on Post Road). I am still relatively new to this, someone else may know of a place.

I don't know if any local restaurants have a gluten-free menu (I haven't seen any), but most non-chain places have been very accommodating (we call ahead and mention gluten-free, then I give a speech before looking at the menu, etc.) If you are cooking for yourself there is also a great winter farmer's market at Fairfield Theater (their warehouse section) by the main train station Saturdays 10-1.

my personal restaurant experiences nearby -

Hunan Pavilion, Chinese restaurant at corner of Grasmere & Fairfield Ave - we got take-out there successfully, may depend on who's at the counter (my husband went in person & explained, we got 2 fresh-made no-soy-sauce stir fries and I was not glutened)