Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

OBXMom

Am I Missing Something?

I am feeling very guilty all of a sudden, as I read more and more posts and see how much I have been missing. I feel so guilty about all of the times I didn't pay enough attention to my son before his celiac diagnosis (for a morning tummyache - "Just eat something, sweetie, you're probably just hungry") and I don't want to make any more mistakes.

We are of course following a gluten free diet, though I am still learning about some things I need to be more careful about, like natural flavoring. We are in the middle of an elimination diet to see what is still causing his tummy to hurt (so far soy & milk.) We are scheduled to begin counseling to deal with his fear of most foods. But what else should we be doing?

We aren't doing any vitamin supplements other than gluten free gummy bear types because my son won't take the powder kind that you can put in pudding or the liquid kind that our nutritionist recommended. He doesn't eat any kind of combined ingredients, and zero fruits and veggies. I also am worried about his bone pains. Should an 8 year old celiac get a bone scan? I feel that if I had pushed harder earlier to get a diagnosis, we could have saved the little guy so much pain, and now I just don't want to miss anything else.

- Jane

Jane

Son (10) diagnosed 10/07 via bloodwork and biopsy

Elimination diet resulted in avoiding dairy, soy & corn for a time

Feeling much better

Enterolab results indicate gluten sensitivity for daughter (14) and myself

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Hello there, I can't offer much advice, but I can say I understand. I, too go through days of beating myself up that I didn't push for a diagnosis. It is very easy to look backward and beat yourself up. You are not alone.