Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Lisa16

Reply From L'occitane, Stri-vectin

Recommended Posts

Here is the reply I got today from L'occitane. My letters have all been the same-- I tell them I have celiac disease and must use gluten free products. I ask them which of their products are safe for me to use.

The results have been enlightening.

I have gotten 11 replies so far, to well over 40 inquiiries. They seem to fall into four categories--

1. a quick reply saying all the products or most of the products are gluten-free (with a list of the few products that are not.) See Caudalie, Nars, 100% pure

2. a list of gluten containing ingredients, often incorrect (with rice or only wheat, for example) or missing things like tocopherol.

3. An extensive list of products that are safe or not safe. See Clarins.

4. A dodge or a CYA statement like "we cannot guarantee..."

This response falls into category 4, as far as I am concerned, because of the "wheat only" approach, as well as the "consult your doctor" bit.

Here it is:

Lisa,

You can use any of our products that do not list a wheat ingredient. Certainly, if you have any specific questions, regarding the use of our products or their appropriateness for you, please discuss this with your physician.

If you do not have the opportunity to visit a boutique and do not see a full ingredient listing for a specific product you

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


I used to have a nasty little addiction to L'Occitane but have never gotten a respectable response from them (if I get one at all) so I've stopped buying most of their stuff. The only product I've been able to use succefully is the Olive Oil Face Lotion SPF 15 since going gluten-free. L'Occitane also changes their ingredients and product line frequently which is rather annoying.


---------------------------------

MP - celiac for 10 years

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Update on L'occitane. Becuase I was unhappy with their reply, I wrote again, asking about "hidden ingredients" and grains besides wheat. They did a better job this time! So their productsa are okay as long as they don't list wheat:

Lisa,

We do apologize; we should have elaborated in our original reply to you. We

have had prior communication with our Product Director regarding gluten free

products and we are fully aware that gluten is present in other grains, besides

wheat and can be present in other forms. Upon inquiring about the ingredient

listings for Celiac customers, we have been informed that our products are

gluten free, unless there is a wheat product listed, meaning this is (or would

be) the only gluten containing ingredient.

We have already inquired about a gluten free product listing and this will not

be produced, as we have been informed that our products are gluten free, unless

a wheat ingredient is listed.

Sincerely,

L'Occitane Customer Service

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites