Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

rmmadden

Wheat Free Soy Sauce

Recommended Posts

I realize that each celiac disease patient is different in what they can eat and can't eat but, does anyone have any firsthand knowledge of the Organic Tamari Wheat Free Soy Sauce?

I see that one of the ingredients listed is organic alcohol. Anyone know what this is made from? I would like to hear about any positive or negative experiences please.

Thanks!

Cleveland Bob :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


We use San-J Organic Tamari Wheat Free Soy Sauce here at my house. It is gluten free. I don't use it myself very often because I am allergic to soy and have to follow my meal with Benadryl if I choose to have some, but my kids love it. My husband is the only one in the family who is not gluten-free and he keeps stealing my San-J brand because it tastes better than his Kikkoman (which is NOT gluten-free!).

As for the alcohol aspect of the product. On the back of the San-J label it says this,

"Fermentation produces alcohol in naturally brewed soy sauce. We add only enough corn-based alcohol to prevent the growth of yeast or mold."

I am extremely confortable using their product.

Another good product is Greta's Marinades. She makes a sesame-soy marinade that is wonderful and is made from wheat free soy sauce. I make stir-fry with this and it is wonderful. Here is a link to the website. http://www.gretasmarinade.com/

She only has two products and both are gluten-free. I get mine at Save Mart, but I've heard some west coast Costco locations have it. I am thinking about buying a case online, since I can only get the small bottle locally. My daughter just adores this sauce.

God bless,

Mariann

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I use VH soy sauce in stir fries. When I eat plain rice I use Tamari Soy Sauce "Oriental Ginger" made by LifeSoy. It is very good on plain rice! YUM!

The bottle of Tamari Soy Sauce that I have says that it is gluten free, wheat free, non fermented, and has no alcohol added on the label. It also says on the label that it is "Approved for use by individuals with celiac spruce or an intolerance to wheat".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites