Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

JustThisGuy

Confusion Over The Milkyway Midnight And The Milkyway Midnight Dark

Recommended Posts

Hey there,

I recently read that Milkway Midnight bars are safe, so I ran over to the shop and bought one, only to note later that the packaging was subtly different, the bar was called a Milky Way Midnight Dark, and the description reads "Rich, DARK, Chocolate. Golden Caramel. Vanilla Nougat." instead of "Bold, Rich Chocolate. Golden Caramel. Vanilla Nougat." I thought, ehn, its a minor packaging difference, its probably the same thing, but I checked the ingredients list just to be safe. And it turns out the ingredients lists are subtly different as well.

Milkyway Midnight reads: Semisweet Chocolate (sugar, chocolate processed with alkali, cocoa butter, chocolate, milk fat, soy lecithin, vanilla extract, artificial and natural flavors), corn syrup, sugar, skim milk, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, less than 2% - Butter, milk fat, lactose, salt, egg whites, soy protein, vanilla extract, artificial flavor.

Milkyway Midnight Dark reads:Semisweet Chocolate (Sugar, chocolate processed with alkali, cocoa butter, milk fat, soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavors), corn syrup, sugar, hydrogenated palm kernel oil and/or palm oil, skim milk, less than 2% - milk fat, lactose, salt, egg whites, natural flavor and artificial flavor.

What's the deal here? Is this some new packaging, or a regional packaging differene? MOst importantly, is it safe to eat?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


That particular company will list wheat if there's any, so the one's you have look fine. The regular bars have wheat. This is the page from the company that lists ingredients for all the Milky Way bars

http://www.milkywaybar.com/facts/faq.html


Rachelle 20dance.gif

Daughter diagnosed 1/06 bloodwork and biopsy
-gluten-free since 1/06

Son tested negative-bloodwork (8/07), intestinal issues prompted biospy (3/08), results negative, but very positive dietary response, Dr. diagnosed Celiac disease (3/8)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually I think it's not wheat but barley malt in the nougat of Milky Ways that has gluten; the nougat of the Midnight is different than the nougat of the regular Milky Way and doesn't have that barley.


Mom of 3

Diagnosed celiac August 2004

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It actually has both:

What are the ingredients in a MILKY WAY


Rachelle 20dance.gif

Daughter diagnosed 1/06 bloodwork and biopsy
-gluten-free since 1/06

Son tested negative-bloodwork (8/07), intestinal issues prompted biospy (3/08), results negative, but very positive dietary response, Dr. diagnosed Celiac disease (3/8)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites