Jump to content
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I'm asking because I ate it and have a belly ache and when I read the ingredients it lists, "carmel color" and I know that is often a source of gluten.

Does anyone know for sure?

Susan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I did wonder that just yesterday in the grocery store. Most of the Yoplait specifically stated "gluten free" and the chocolate mousse didn't have that label. I didn't see any obvious gluten ingredient.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm asking because I ate it and have a belly ache and when I read the ingredients it lists, "carmel color" and I know that is often a source of gluten.

Does anyone know for sure?

Susan

Always hesitate to say for sure for anyone else, but ate some this morning, have eaten it many times and never had a problem. Love the whips. They're light and airy. Never ate yogurt in my whole life, till I got stomach problems and tried whips.

Also, I haven't had a problem with caramel colors either.

best regards, lm

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would call the 800 number on the carton and ask. I tend to be supercautious and if a company usually uses a gluten free label on their food and a product doesn't have it I either pass or call before I consume. Yoplait is a really good company, perhaps there is barley malt used in the chocolate in a small enough amount so it can be left off the label. That does not have to be disclosed. I would call just to be on the safe side.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ok thanks! I too wondered when I saw that the other packages of Yoplait stuff says gluten-free but the chocolate Whips does not.

Susan

Someone inquired about this in the past. If I recall, they are using up their old containers and slowly integrating the new labeling containers. Yoplait has stated that the only gluten containing Yoplait are the crumbs and cookies.

As always, when in doubt call.

All of us have had a compromised digestive system and I would think it not unusual for certain foods to irritate us. Not all of this irritation could be gluten related.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I would call the 800 number on the carton and ask. I tend to be supercautious and if a company usually uses a gluten free label on their food and a product doesn't have it I either pass or call before I consume. Yoplait is a really good company, perhaps there is barley malt used in the chocolate in a small enough amount so it can be left off the label. That does not have to be disclosed. I would call just to be on the safe side.

YOPLAIT WILL LIST ANY GLUTEN SOURCE INCLUDING BARLEY....

Thank you for contacting Yoplait regarding gluten in Yoplait yogurt.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product's ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I would call the 800 number on the carton and ask. I tend to be supercautious and if a company usually uses a gluten free label on their food and a product doesn't have it I either pass or call before I consume. Yoplait is a really good company, perhaps there is barley malt used in the chocolate in a small enough amount so it can be left off the label. That does not have to be disclosed. I would call just to be on the safe side.

YOPLAIT WILL LIST ANY GLUTEN SOURCE INCLUDING BARLEY....

Thank you for contacting Yoplait regarding gluten in Yoplait yogurt.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product's ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I did wonder that just yesterday in the grocery store. Most of the Yoplait specifically stated "gluten free" and the chocolate mousse didn't have that label. I didn't see any obvious gluten ingredient.

sorry to sound ignorant here but, i though that yoplait was no longer gluten free. where i live all the ypolait's no longer say "gluten free". (mass) is it just the whips that are gluten free. i have never looked into eating them and i can only stomach brown cow yogurt for so long. can someone please clarify . so can we have yoplait. i am seriously missing the boat on this one. thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
sorry to sound ignorant here but, i though that yoplait was no longer gluten free. where i live all the ypolait's no longer say "gluten free". (mass) is it just the whips that are gluten free. i have never looked into eating them and i can only stomach brown cow yogurt for so long. can someone please clarify . so can we have yoplait. i am seriously missing the boat on this one. thanks

As stated earlier by company response, Yoplait will clearly list all forms of gluten to include barley, rye, malt or wheat. If you do not see these words on the ingredients list, it is gluten free. As so are the products that these companies sell:

http://www.glutenfreeindy.com/foodlists/in...donothidegluten

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
sorry to sound ignorant here but, i though that yoplait was no longer gluten free. where i live all the ypolait's no longer say "gluten free". (mass) is it just the whips that are gluten free. i have never looked into eating them and i can only stomach brown cow yogurt for so long. can someone please clarify . so can we have yoplait. i am seriously missing the boat on this one. thanks

they're just switching over containers, i see a lot more with gluten-free now than before, but either way, it's always been gluten-free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
they're just switching over containers, i see a lot more with gluten-free now than before, but either way, it's always been gluten-free

Resurrecting an old topic here.. The containers still don't say gluten-free on them. Did anyone ever call? I may do so tomorrow since I've been curious.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I got an updated response to something already posted here, in case anyone was interested:

Because we constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated.

For products not labeled gluten free, we will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ′Natural Flavors′ or ′Spices′ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed.

If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...