This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New To Forum, Waiting For Results, Etc...

LoveLife

LoveLife Rookie

Hi Everyone!

I

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Ridgewalker Contributor

Welcome to the forum!

I'm no doctor-- but to me, the fact that you and your daughter BOTH have symptoms make it more likely that you both have Celiac. It's much more hereditary than official studies show.

I'm glad that you decided to go gluten-free no matter what the biopsy shows. It sounds like your gastro doc knows his stuff, but even when taking multiple samples the damage can still be missed. And of course, the results are subject to human interpretation. Furthermore, no one knows how "advanced" a case of Celiac must be to show up as visible damage to the intestinal villi.

Also, keep in mind that if you decide to have your daughter tested, the tests are even less reliable in children.

(Can you tell that I am rather dissatisfied with the current standard testing methods for Celiac? :lol: ) Dietary response, or lack of which, can tell you a lot.

A few things I wanted to note...

Low-grade fever isn't a super common symptom of Celiac, but it's not at all unheard of. In fact, my oldest son ran a low-grade fever every single morning for the whole month before I put him on a gluten-free diet. And speaking of Lucas, he also frequently complained of leg pain, which I mistakenly put off as growing pains. He was 6 years old at the time. Both of those symptoms (among so many others) went completely away after he went gluten-free. They only come back sometimes when he gets "glutened."