This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Great Egg Bread Recipe

2new2celiacs

2new2celiacs Newbie

I am pretty new to the gluten free diet, since being diag. in Sept. 2004.

Since being diagnosed I have been on the mission of searching for that bread alternative that would satisfy my need. I have tried several of the brands available and much to my dislike have began trying to bake my own. I have several (reg.) cookbooks that I have been experimenting with trying to alter them into gluten-free breads and work pretty good when I use cornstarch and potato starch in place of reg. self rising wheat flour. I find that Red Star Yeast works best and it is gluten-free. The corn & potato starch work wonders for flavor as well as giving a good texture.

Xanthan gum helps too, it is a bit expensive at certain places, yet, cheaper when ordered online. For those of you who suffer from the constipation problems Guar gum would be good (of course for those of you who can tolerate this) due to it's mild laxative effect.

I also just got a good cookbook from my mom for Christmas, it's "The Gluten Free Kitchen" by Roben Ryberg. For those of you who do not already have this one, I reccomend it highly. She has plenty of great recipes for all kinds of baked goods as well as dinners/appetizers etc..

For those of you who enjoy english muffins and have not already found a good alternative, I recently just ordered "Sterks" brand bagels, and they were so yummy, however, they were just like an english muffin in taste and texture...WONDERFUL!!!!!

Happy Baking to you all and good luck!!! :D

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):