Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Join eNewsletter

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):

Join eNewsletter

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

hi everyone,

I am very new to all of this. My daughter who is 6 has been gluten free for about 2 to 3 months now. I am having problems coming up with new snacks for her to take to school. I hate sending the same things week after week. I afraid she will get burnt out on eating them all the time. She takes her gluten-free bar, chips,roll ups,fruit, and pudding. If some else came give me some more advice it would really help. We do most of our shopping at Food City. There is a Nature's Pantry but is takes 40 minutes to get to. So name brand foods would help alot.

When you can look back at the end of the day and can find one thing to smile about then you know you have had a GREAT DAY!!!!!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Hi! I'm 16 and pack school lunches every day. Here are some of my staples:

-fruit of all kinds

-salads- have your DD help you make them. They don't even have to be lettuce-based. kids are a lot more open to veggies if they have a lot of choices. some good kid friendly ones are: celery, bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, you can even get creative with things like baby corn, pea pods, etc.

-peanut butter on celery, apples, or rice cakes

-nature valley roasted nut crunch granola bars- these are the only nature calley bars that are safe, they are nuts and seeds only no oats or barley malt

-popcorn

-nuts

-dried fruit

-tortilla chips

-wraps on mission corn tortillas

there have been many threads like this, try searching the archives!

Gluten Free since 10/07

Mildly Lactose Intolerant, slight intestinal symptoms after eating milk products, but easily corrected with lactase enzyme

Endometriosis- DX'd 5/07

Gluten Antibodies- "negative"...don't know exact numbers, am highly suspicious...

DXed celiac 12-19-07 via genetics/elimination diet- DQ2 allele