Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter

Rate this topic

Recommended Posts

I thought I remember reading this was on the safe list....I read the package and the only thing that seems suspect is carmel color. Does anyone know for sure?

Thanks!


Melissa

gluten free since 10/04

Tampa Bay, FL

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):


Knorr will clearly disclose gluten. If you don't see it listed by the name of the grain, it isn't there. Caramel color is not a concern.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Knorr will clearly disclose gluten. If you don't see it listed by the name of the grain, it isn't there. Caramel color is not a concern.

does any one know if Tones chicken bouillon is gluten free

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Herb Ox boullion cubes are gluten-free. They say so right on the package. I can't find them at Walmart or Frys (Krogger store) buy Safeway here carries them. I don't know about Knorr. I was happy to find the Herb Ox. I love when products are actually labeled gluten-free. Makes shopping so much easier!!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing that you have to pay attention to re: Knorr Bouillon and other Bouillons and Bouillon Cubes is that they are loaded with MSG. MSG is very bad for you. Also beware of "modified food starch" as this actually wheat starch which is a thickening agent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've recently bought both Herb-Ox chicken and beef instant bouillon (not cubes) at my local WalMart Supercenter. Both jars say "Gluten Free" and "No MSG Added" on the front of the label. Since it's made by Hormel, they're one of the companies that are good about labeling their products.


Sylvia

Positive Celiac Blood Panel - Dec., 2009

Endoscopy with Positive Biopsy - April 9, 2010

Gluten Free - April 9, 2010

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also beware of "modified food starch" as this actually wheat starch which is a thickening agent.

This is simply not true. While in theory, it could be wheat, in my experience it never is. In the US, it would be required by law to be labeled as "wheat."

Knorr is a Unilever brand, and Unilever (like Kraft, Con Agra, General Mills and others) will always clearly label any gluten-containing ingredient by naming the grain source.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another thing that you have to pay attention to re: Knorr Bouillon and other Bouillons and Bouillon Cubes is that they are loaded with MSG. MSG is very bad for you. Also beware of "modified food starch" as this actually wheat starch which is a thickening agent.

The comment about MFS is just flat-out wrong.

richard

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It says caramel coloring on it though, I know it is supposed to be fine if made within the US but on the packaging it says "product of Mexico." I'm worried about using it!


Diagnosed in April 2012

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It says caramel coloring on it though, I know it is supposed to be fine if made within the US but on the packaging it says "product of Mexico." I'm worried about using it!

If its sold in the US, they must label wheat. Carmel coloring is not a concern in the US as far as gluten.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To repeat, Unilever will clearly disclose all gluten sources on the label. If you don't see the name of a gluten grain, the product is gluten-free.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A friend of mine just sent me a little care package of what is supposed to be gluten-free foods. There is a box of Knorr vegetable bullion. One ingredient is autolyzed yeast extract. There is also a package of vegetable dip mix (Knorr). The vegetable dip mix says autolyzed yeast extract (barley). The bullion does not use the word barley. So, is this autolyzed yeast extract safe if it is not barley based? Very confusing!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To repeat, Unilever will clearly disclose all gluten sources on the label. If you don't see the name of a gluten grain, the product is gluten-free.

For the third time, Unilever will clearly disclose any gluten in any of their products. If you do not see a gluten grain named on the label, there is no gluten in the product. The product that mentions barley contains small amounts of gluten. The other product is gluten-free.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I noticed a few months ago that the Chicken Knorr Bouillon Cubes are fine (the Knorr chicken powder has gluten) and the Beef cubes also have gluten. I had to go to a health food store to find gluten-free Beef Bouillon. Could be I was just confused. I will have to check it out next time I go shopping.


CANADIAN!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the third time, Unilever will clearly disclose any gluten in any of their products. If you do not see a gluten grain named on the label, there is no gluten in the product. The product that mentions barley contains small amounts of gluten. The other product is gluten-free.

It is true, Unilever does mention the origin of the grain in their products, worldwide, which is exceptional.

However what they don't care about is that the gluten in their seasoning products ruins entire dishes for us.

Are the gluten in the seasoning products really necessary taste wise? That is the big question.

Could the same result not be achieved with non-gluten variations?

I hope companies like Unilever become more aware of our problems and will only use gluten when they are strictly necessary for the product.


Ben (58)

Diagnosed Celiac 12-Apr-2012

Dairy intolerant, B12 malabsorption, Bile acid malabsorption.

Osteopania

Lifetime of misdiagnoses.

2008-2011 Lived in Thailand, almost symptom free.

Now only eat Thai food.

Easy to cook - gluten/dairy free - delicious

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It doesn't show any wheat in this product ingredients. It has a lot of " unnatural" things someone might want to avoid.

I guess what in saying is that this doesn't seem to be a very reliable site. They look like they say it has wheat in it, but there is none listed.


 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some Herb Ox brand chicken bullion is soy free and gluten free.


Proverbs 25:16 "Hast thou found honey? eat so much as is sufficient for thee, lest thou be filled therewith, and vomit it."

Job 30:27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.

Thyroid cyst and nodules, Lactose / casein intolerant. Diet positive, gene test pos, symptoms confirmed by Dr-head. My current bad list is: gluten, dairy, sulfites, coffee (the devil's brew), tea, Bug's Bunnies carrots, garbanzo beans of pain, soy- no joy, terrible turnips, tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, eggplant, celery, strawberries, pistachios, and hard work. Have a good day! 🙂 Paul

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any ingredient that knowingly has gluten in it must be on a label. Therefore if the caramel color has gluten it would be on the label. Note that possible cross contamination doesn't have to be on a label though. If you want to know email a company and specifcally ask them if it's gluten free. If they say yes, then eat it without worry. If they start to explain the law to you and throw in there that they won't guarantee it's gluten free is when you may not want to trust the product. It may, of course, still be safe to eat.

I think when I first when gluten-free I had some knorr bouillon cubes I had to throw out. But they were probably 2 years old by now and the labelling laws to clearly indicate wheat in Canada I don't think had come into effect.


diagnosed Jan 2012, bloodwork only

June 2012 positive visual of celiac disease from gastroscopy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Any ingredient that knowingly has gluten in it must be on a label.

Labeling of wheat in Canada has been required for many years as a "priority allergen." The other gluten sources were added effective August 4, 2012, for foods packaged on or after that date.

In the US, wheat must be disclosed, but disclosure of barley, rye and oats remains voluntary. Some manufacturers have a clear gluten disclosure policy. They include Unilever, Kraft, Con Agra, General Mills and others.


Peter

Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000. I was retested five years later and the biopsy was normal. You can beat this disease!

Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986

Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator since 2007

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The package did not mention gluten or wheat, but Unileever’s website says it may contain gluten.  Had it last night and have yet to get to sleep and it 5:45am.  I can confirm our container has gluten.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just make my own and freeze stock cubes in ice trays OR I use Jarrow Bone Broth Powders.
They make a Beef, Chicken, Beef Ramen, and Chicken Curry Flavored powders, vitacost, wholefoods (on sale) and amazon are your best bets.


Diagnosed Issues
Celiac (Gluten Ataxia, and Villi Damage dia. 2014, Villi mostly healed on gluten-free diet 2017 confirmed by scope)
Ulcerative Colitis (Dia, 2017), ADHD, Bipolar, Asperger Syndrome (form of autism)
Allergies Corn, Whey
Sensitivities/Intolerances
Peanuts (resolved 2019), Cellulose Gel, Lactose, Soy, Yeast
Olives (Seems to have resolved or gone mostly away as of Jan, 2017), Sesame (Gone away as of June 2017, still slight Nausea)
Enzyme issues with digesting some foods I have to take Pancreatic Enzymes Since mine does not work right, additional food prep steps also
Low Tolerance for sugars and carbs (Glucose spikes and UC Flares)
Occupation Gluten Free Bakery, Paleo Based Chef/Food Catering

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/22/2013 at 11:59 AM, psawyer said:

Labeling of wheat in Canada has been required for many years as a "priority allergen." The other gluten sources were added effective August 4, 2012, for foods packaged on or after that date.

 

In the US, wheat must be disclosed, but disclosure of barley, rye and oats remains voluntary. Some manufacturers have a clear gluten disclosure policy. They include Unilever, Kraft, Con Agra, General Mills and others.

Not always the case with Knorr products, their beef bouillon contains yeast, and it does NOT disclose its source of yeast, GlutenfreeWatchdog.com reminds us to stay away from companies who do not clearly mark their packages, and I am sick of being sick, ASSUMING if it’s not on the Label, then it’s not in the product is a false, misleading, and a dangerous place to be. Just spend your money on clearly marked packages and send everyone else packing. I have decided to buy high quality foods, and just eat less, since the over Modifying of wheat starches to make an impenetrable plant to pests and disease has made us all sick, I am going to hurt them where they should have been hurt a long time ago, their wallets. If they cannot mark their packages as gluten-free, then I don’t buy them, no more assuming “well if it’s so and so, it’s got to be on the label” hogwash, I ate some Beef bouillon and got sick, NEVER again...Me and my money go to responsible and less greedy food companies from now on, even if I eat plain rice and potatoes the rest of my life.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
1 1